The Congress on Saturday announced names of nine more Lok Sabha candidates for Uttar Pradesh, which included RK Chaudhary, Raj Kishore Singh and Ramakant Yadav, all of whom joined the party recently. Also Read - Assam Assembly Election 2021: Congress Releases First Candidate List Full of Fresh Faces

RK Chaudhary came into the Congress fold earlier this month and has been fielded from Mohanlalganj replacing Ramashankar Bhargava whose name was announced earlier. Also Read - 100 Days Or 100 Months: Congress Will Continue To Fight Till Farm Laws Are Rolled Back, Says Priyanka Gandhi

Chaudhary was a minister in the Mayawati government and had contested the 2014 Lok Sabha poll on BSP ticket from Mohanlalganj. He was defeated by the BJP’s Kaushal Kishore by nearly 1.45 lakh votes. Also Read - Tamil Nadu Election 2021: DMK-Congress Finalise Seat-sharing Pact. Congress Given 25 Seats, to Fight Kanyakumari By-poll

The Congress has also fielded Raj Kishore Singh from Basti and Ramakant Yadav from Bhadohi seats. Both had joined the party on Friday.

While Raj Kishore was a minister in the Akhilesh Yadav government, Ramakant Yadav is a former MP.

The Congress has also fielded former MP Rajesh Misra from Salempur and Ummed Singh Nishad from Ambedkarnagar.

Union minister Anupriya Patel’s mother Krishna Patel, who leads a faction of the Apna Dal, will contest the Gonda seat. The Congress on March 16 had finalised the seat-sharing agreement with the Apna Dal led by Krishna Patel and allocated it Basti and Gonda Lok Sabha seats.

The Congress’ other ally the Jan Adhikar Party was allocated Chandauli and Ghazipur parliamentary constituencies which would be contested by Shivkanya Kushwaha and Ajit Kumar Kushwaha respectively.