Congress Names 5 Candidates From Uttarakhand With Party General Secretary Harish Rawat Fielded From Nainital

The Congress had on Saturday night also announced its candidates for three Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh.

Published: March 24, 2019 4:20 PM IST


Congress leader Harish Rawat
Congress leader Harish Rawat. Photo Courtesy: IANS

The Congress has announced candidates for all the five Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand. The party has fielded Congress general secretary Harish Rawat from Nainital, former MLA Ambrish Kumar from Haridwar, former Chief Minister BC Khanduri’s son Manish Khanduri from Pauri, state Congress president Pritam Singh from Tehri and Rajya Sabha member Pradeep Tamta from Almora.

Also Read:

“The Congress’ central election committee cleared names of all the candidates,” Suryakant Dhasmana, the state party vice president, said on Saturday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party had declared its candidates on Thursday. The last day for filing nominations is Monday.

The Congress late on Saturday night announced its candidates for three Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh.

The eighth list of candidates announced by the party names Rashid Alvi from Amroha, Mahesh Pathak from Mathura and Kunwar Sarvaraj Singh from Aonla in the state.

A former spokesperson of the Congress, Alvi has been a member of the Lok Sabha from Amroha (1999-2004) and a two-term Rajya Sabha MP from Andhra Pradesh.

Kunwar Sarvaraj Singh has been a three-time Lok Sabha MP from Aonla. He was elected to the Lok Sabha from the constituency in 1996 and 1999 on Samajwadi tickets, while in 2004, he got elected on a Janata Dal (United) ticket.

Mahesh Pathak, who has been fielded from Mathura by the Congress, is a local businessman.

(With PTI inputs)

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

Published Date: March 24, 2019 4:20 PM IST