New Delhi: The Congress on Sunday released the names of five candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in Haryana, naming Bhupinder Singh Hooda from Sonipat, Nirmal Singh from Kurukshetra, Bhavya Bishnoi from Hisar and Kuldeep Sharma from Karnal. Furthermore, the party has nominated Avtar Singh Bhadana in place of Lalit Nagar from Faridabad.

Earlier, the Congress had announced its first list of six candidates for the Lok Sabha polls in Haryana. The list included sitting MP Deepender Hooda and Rajya Sabha member Kumari Selja.

Former Chief Minister Hooda’s son Deepender Singh, who is sitting MP, was renominated from Rohtak. Selja was named to fight from the Ambala (Reserved) seat. State Congress chief Ashok Tanwar was nominated from the Sirsa (Reserved) seat.

Congress Legislature Party leader Kiran Choudhary’s daughter Shruti was named from the Bhiwani Mahendragarh seat. She had contested the 2014 Lok Sabha polls unsuccessfully from this seat. Six-time MLA Capt Ajay Singh Yadav has been fielded from Gurgaon.

Out of the 10 Lok Sabha seats, the Congress had won only the Rohtak seat in 2014.

The ruling BJP has already announced its candidates for the ten seats, so has the Jannayak Janata Party-AAP alliance.

The JJP-AAP announced its candidates for all ten seats after its talks with the Congress for forging a tie-up did not fructify.

The 10 seats in Haryana will go to polls on May 12 in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The filing of nominations for the Lok Sabha seats began on April 16 and will end on April 23. The counting of votes will be conducted on May 23.

(Inputs from PTI)