Top Recommended Stories

Congress Releases List of 10 Candidates; Karti Chidambaram to Contest From Tamil Nadu’s Sivaganga District

The Congress party on Saturday announced eight names for the April 18 polls.

Published: March 24, 2019 5:54 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Kanimozhi Sudhakar

Karti Chidambaram

New Delhi: The Congress released a list of 10 candidates on Sunday. The list includes Karti Chidambaram from Tamil Nadu’s Sivaganga, Tariq Anwar who will contest from Bihar’s Katihar, BK Hariprasad who will contest from Bengaluru South, and Suresh Dhanorkar from Chandrapur in Maharashtra.

Also Read:

On Saturday, the Congress party declared the names of eight candidates for the April 18 polls. The names featured in the party’s list of 34 Lok Sabha seats was released earlier in the day.

You may like to read

Apart from Karti Chidambaram, the other candidates from Tamil Nadu include two former state party heads, S Thirunavukkarasar and EVKS Elangovan. In 2014, Karti Chidambaram, the son of former Finance Minister P. Chidambaram, fought and lost in Sivaganga. While in 2009 and 2004 elections, P Chidambaram represented Sivaganga constituency.

Meanwhile, Karti Chidambaram is facing criminal charges for receiving foreign funds of Rs 305 crores when his father was the finance minister. The case related to the FIPB clearance to INX Media is being probed by the ED and the CBI. The ED had said that Karti, who is also facing proceedings in cases like Aircel-Maxis and money laundering matters, has been “blatantly misusing” the liberty granted by the court in allowing him to travel abroad and has been using the same to protract the investigation in the case.

(With agency inputs)

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest Lok Sabha Elections 2019 India News on

Published Date: March 24, 2019 5:54 PM IST