Top Recommended Stories

Congress Releases List of 40 Star Campaigners For Punjab And Chandigarh Constituencies

Voting in Chandigarh and Punjab constituencies is scheduled to take place in the final phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on May 19. Notably, Congress won three of the 13 seats in Punjab during the previous Lok Sabha election.

Published: April 30, 2019 11:41 AM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Kanimozhi Sudhakar

Congress symbol
प्रतीकात्मक तस्वीर.

New Delhi: The Congress party on Tuesday released a list of 40 star campaigners  for Punjab and Chandigarh ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections scheduled on May 19. Congress president Rahul Gandhi is expected to reach out to voters on behalf of his party. On the other hand, Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh, state minister Navjot Singh Sidhu and national leaders including Manmohan Singh, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ambika Soni and Manish Tewari are some of the campaigners mentioned in the list. The list also includes Priyanka Gandhi Vadra.

While the chief minister of Rajasthan Ashok Gehlot will campaign for the Congress party in Punjab, former Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and Harish Rawat will hit the campaign trail as well.

You may like to read

In the 2017 Assembly election, Congress party had registered a sound performance in Punjab. Notably, a report stated that Aam Aadmi Party wanted an alliance with Congress in both Punjab and Chandigarh. However, the Congress was totally against the alliance. Meanwhile, chief minister Amarinder Singh asserted that Sunil Jakhar would win the Gurdaspur seat hands down, with BJP’s Sunny Deol just “a fly-by-night” candidate who would simply “disappear”. The BJP has fielded Deol, a Jat Sikh, from the Gurdaspur constituency. He is pitted against sitting MP and Congress candidate Jakhar. In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, Congress won three of the 13 seats in Punjab. This time, the party faces a major challenge from Shiromani Akali Dal, BJP and AAP.

Voting in Chandigarh and in all the 13 seats in Punjab is scheduled to take place in the final phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on May 19.

(With agency inputs)

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.