The Election Commission has disqualified 493 losing candidates in 2017 Uttar Pradesh assembly polls from contesting elections for the next three years for failing to submit their poll-related expenditure accounts. Also Read - Uttar Pradesh: Journalist Burnt to Death For Writing Against Corrupt Pradhan, 3 Arrested

The list includes six candidates from Muzaffarnagar district of the state. Also Read - Man Shot Dead Over Rs 200 at Crowded Market in Uttar Pradesh's Aligarh

Chief Electoral Officer Ramesh Chand Rai said the disqualification comes after the failure of these candidates to submit their final returns on election expenditure in the previous Uttar Pradesh assembly polls. Also Read - First Case Registered in Bareilly Under 'Love Jihad' Law

The candidates have been disqualified under the Representation of the People Act, he said.