New Delhi: The Election Commission on Wednesday suspended poll campaigning in nine parliamentary constituencies in West Bengal from April 16 10 pm onwards till the conclusion of polls.Also Read - Over 100 People Fall Ill After Eating Pani Puri In West Bengal's Hooghly, Diarrhoea Suspected

The Lok Sabha seats that will not witness any election campaigning starting Thursday are- Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Jadavpur, Diamond Harbour, South, and North Kolkata. Also Read - Locals Show Shoes, Shout 'Chor, Chor' At TMC Leader Anubrata Mondal In CBI Court | Watch

Also Read - West Bengal Road Accident: 9 People Killed In Deadly Vehicle Collision

Click here for all updates on Lok Sabha elections 2019

The poll body has invoked Article 324 in wake of violent clashes in north Kolkata on Tuesday that broke out between TMC and BJP supporters during BJP national president Amit Shah’s roadshow.

The poll body observed, “The Commission is deeply anguished at the vandalism done to the statue of Vidyasagar. It is hoped that the vandals are traced by the state administration.”

Further, the ECI said:

In the meantime, the chief secretary will look after the Home Department, the ECI added.


During the violent clash between members of the TMC students’ union and BJP supporters during Shah’s roadshow, the Vidyasagar College premises were vandalized and a bust of key Bengal renaissance figure Ishar Chandra Vidyasagar was destroyed.