New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Wednesday issued a showcause notice to Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath for his ‘Modi ji ki sena’ remark made during a rally at Ghaziabad earlier this week. He has been asked to reply by April 5 evening.

The action by the poll body comes on the basis of a video clip submitted by the Ghaziabad district magistrate which shows the chief minister making the remarks at a Lok Sabha elections 2019 rally on Sunday. As per the sources in the poll panel, quoted by PTI, prima facie, Adityanath has violated the EC’s advisory of keeping armed forces away from political campaign.

Adityanath, who addressed election meetings in Ghaziabad and Greater Noida on Sunday, had lashed out at the Congress for what he called was its ‘soft approach towards terrorism and terrorists’. The BJP leader was campaigning for sitting MP and Union minister VK Singh.

“Congress ke log aatankwadiyon ko biryani khilate the aur Modiji ki sena aatankwadiyon ko goli aur gola deti hai. (Congress leaders would feed biryani to terrorists, while Modi’s army gives them bullets and bombs). This is the difference. The Congress people use ‘ji’ to refer to (JeM chief) Masood Azhar to encourage terrorism,” he had said at the Ghaziabad election rally.

On March 19, the Election Commission had asked political parties to ‘desist’ from indulging in any propaganda involving actions taken by defence forces during their Lok Sabha poll campaigns. The advisory was issued days after the poll panel asked parties and their candidates against using pictures of defence force personnel in their campaign material.

“…Parties/candidates are advised that their campaigners/candidates should desist, as part of their election campaigning, from indulging in any political propaganda involving activities of defence forces,” the poll body had said.

Former Navy Chief Admiral L Ramdas had Monday said he would approach the Election Commission against Adityanath for his remarks and claimed that many veterans and those in service were upset over it.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are scheduled to be held in seven phases. All the constituencies in Uttar Pradesh will vote in these seven phases beginning April 11 and ending May 19. The counting of votes will be conducted on May 23.

(Inputs from PTI)