Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha Seats in Punjab will witness voting on May 19. The counting of votes will be held on May 23 and  the result will be declared on same day. Also Read - Punjab: Night Curfew Imposed in Jalandhar, SBS Nagar, Hoshiarpur, Kapurthala | Check What’s Open, What’s Shut?

Key details about Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur Seats in Punjab Also Read - Coronavirus in Punjab: Night Curfew Imposed in Jalandhar From Today | Essential Services Allowed

Gurdaspur: Bollywood star and BJP leader Vinod Khanna had represented the Gurdaspur parliamentary constituency in Punjab for four terms until he passed away in 2017. After Khann’s demise,  Congress leader Sunil Jakhar registered victory from the LS seat in 2017 by-elections. Jakhar had defeated BJP’s Swaran Salaria by 1,93,219 votes. Also Read - Crorepati Overnight! Amritsar Woman Wins Lottery of Rs 1 Crore From A Mere Rs 100 Ticket

For 2019 Lok sabha elections, AAP has fielded Peter Maseeh Cheeda, Congress has retained Jakhar. BJP is yet to declare its candidate from the LS seat.

Amritsar: At present, Congress’ Gurjeet Singh Aujla is representing the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat in Punjab. Aujla had registered victory in 2017 by-elections after the sitting MP and Punjab CM Captain Amarinder Singh resigned to protest against the Supreme Court’s order on the SYL canal water-sharing agreement.

In  2017 by-elections,  Aujla had defeated BJP’s Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina by a margin of  199,189 votes.

For 2019 LS elections Congress has fielded Gurjit Singh Aujla and AAP has nominated Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal. BJP is yet to declare its candidate from the LS seat.

Khadoor Sahib: Khadoor Sahib parliamentary constituencies in Punjab came into existence in 2008 after delimitation. Currently, it is represented by Shiromani Akali Dal (Taksali)’s (SAD-Taksali) Ranjit Singh Brahmpura. He had won the seat in 2014 by defeating Congress’ Harminder Singh Gill with a margin of 100,569 votes.

Brahmpura has won the seat on SAD ticket in 2014 but in December 2018, he  floated a breakaway faction Shiromani Akali Dal (Taksali) with former minister Sewa Singh Sekhwan.

For 2019 polls, SAD has fielded Bibi Jagir Kaur. Other political parties Congress and SAD are yet to declare candidates from Khadoor Sahib Lok Sabha seat.

Jalandhar: It is reserved for members of Scheduled Castes. Congress’ Santokh Singh Chaudhary is representing the Lok Sabha seat at present. He had defeated SAD’s Pawan Kumar Tinu with 70,981 votes.

For 2019 Lok Sabha polls, Congress has fielded Santokh Singh Chaudhary and AAP has fielded Jora Singh. SAD has fielded Charanjit Singh Atwal to contest from Jalandhar this year.

Hoshiarpur: This Lok Sabha seat is reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates. Currently, it is represented by BJP leader and Union minister of state for social empowerment Vijay Sampla. In 2014, Sampla had defated Congress’ Mohinder Singh Kaypee by 135,82 votes.

For 2019 Lok Sabha polls, Congress has fielded Rajkumar Chabbewal and AAP has fielded Dr Ravjot Singh. BJP is yet to declare its candidates from Hoshiarpur.