Lok Sabha Election 2019: Manipur has two parliamentary seats– outer Manipur and Inner Manipur. In 2014 LS elections, the Congress won both the seats.

For the upcoming elections, polling for the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat will be held on April 11 and Inner Manipur seat will to polls on April 18. Further, the counting of votes will take place on May 23. In March 2017, the BJP for the first time came to power in the state after winning 21 seats in the assembly election.

BJP has fielded Houlim Shokhopao Mate from Inner Manipur seat while Shri H Shokhopao Mate (Benjamin) will be contesting the Outer Manipur (ST) seat. Congress has fielded Angam Karung Kom for Inner Manipur seat. Another key party in the state, JD (U), has fielded Hangkhanpau Taithul from the Inner Manipur seat.

Key things to know:

Polling date: April 11, April 18

Vote counting: May 23

Lok Sabha seats in the state: 2

Ruling party/coalition in the state: BJP-NPP-NPF-LJP

Party wise break-up of the Lok Sabha seats: CONG: 2

Number of voters in the state: 1,930,912 (2019)

Voter turnout in 2014: 77.5%

Number of assembly seats: 60

Partywise break-up of assembly seats: BJP:21, CONG: 28, IND: 1, NPF:4, NPP:4, LJP:1, TMC:1