New Delhi: All 28 parliamentary seats in Karnataka including Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North will vote in two phases on April 18 and 23. Also Read - Karnataka Man Strangles Leopard to Death in Battle of Survival, Hailed as Real Life George Kutty

Lets take a look at key details about Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North seats in Karnataka which will go to polls in second phase of Lok Sabha elections on April 18. Also Read - Popular Nandi Hills in Karnataka to Get A New Ropeway

The counting of votes will take place on May 23. Also Read - Lockdown Travel Guidelines: Arriving from Maharashtra, Kerala? Check New Airport Rules

Mandya: Mandya Lok Sabha constituency in Karnataka covers the entire Mandya district and part of Mysore district. At present, the seat is represented by  JD(S) candidate CS Puttaraju. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Puttaraju had defeated Congress candidate Ramya by a slender margin of 5,518 votes.

For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, JD(S) has fielded Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy’s son Nikhil Kumar Gowda. He will take on veteran actor Sumalatha, widow of Congress leader Ambareesh.

Mysore: Lok Sabha constituency number 21, Mysore is currently represented by BJP’s Prathap Simha. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Prathap Simha had defeated Congress’ Adagur H Vishwanath by a margin of 74,041 votes.

For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP has retained Prathap Simha. Simha will contest against Congress’ CH Vijayashankar. This time, Mysore will be contested by the grand old party under the Congress-JD(S) coalition seat arrangement.

Chamarajanagar: Chamarajanagar Lok Sabha constituency, which came into existence in 1962 is considered a Congress bastion. This constituency is reserved for the Scheduled Castes.

This seat is currently held by Congress R Dhruvanarayana. Notably, Dhruvanarayana is the two-time lawmaker from the Chamarajanagar Lok Sabha constituency since 2009. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Dhruvanarayana had defeated BJP’s AR Krishna Murthy with a margin of 141,182 votes.

For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Congress has retained R Dhruvanarayana while BJP has fielded V Srinivas Prasad. BSP candidate Shivkumar is also in the fray from Chamarajanagar LS seat.

Bangalore Rural: The Bangalore Rural Lok Sabha seat came into existence in 2008. Karnataka CM and JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy won the first Lok Sabha election from the seat in 2009. In 2013, Kumaraswamy resigned to contest the Karnataka assembly election.

Following Kumaraswamy’s resignation by-election was necessitated there (Bangalore Rural) which was won by Congress leader DK Suresh. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections as well, Suresh repeated his victory.

For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Congress leader DK Suresh is pitted against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Ashwathnarayangowda and Bahujan Samaj Party’s Chinnappa Y Chikkahagade.

Bangalore North: This Lok Sabha seat is currently represented by BJP’s  DV Sadananda Gowda. He had defeated Congress’ C Narayanswamy with a margin of 229,764 in 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP has retained DV Sadananda Gowda, Congress has fielded Krishna Byre Gowda. BSP candidate Syed Hydri Babloo is also in the fray.