Nominations of 30 candidates were rejected on Friday after scrutiny for 14 Lok Sabha constituencies which will go to polls in the second phase on April 23, election officials said. They said the number of validly nominated candidates stands at 288. A total of 318 candidates have filed 457 nominations till Thursday, the last day of filing nominations.Also Read - New Maharashtra Govt on Cards? Eknath Shinde Met Devendra Fadnavis Last Night in Gujarat: Report

Prominent among those who have filed their nominations for the second phase are Congress leader in the Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, Union Ministers Ananth Kumar Hegde from Uttara Kannada, Ramesh Jigajinagi from Bijapur, BJP chief BS Yeddyurappa’s son BY Raghavendra and former chief minister S Bangarappa’s son Madhu Bangarappa of JD(S) from Shimogga. Also Read - Karnataka: Mystery of 7 Foetuses Dumped Into Gutter Solved; 2 Belagavi Hospitals Sealed

The list also included Umesh Jadhav, a rebel Congress MLA who resigned recently and joined BJP from Gulbarga, sitting BJP MP Prahlad Joshi from Dharwad and Congress working president Eshwar Khandre from Bidar. Also Read - No One Should Use Balasaheb's Name: Uddhav Thackeray Reacts After Rebel Sena MLAs Decide To Call Themselves As 'Shiv Sena Balasaheb'

Karnataka will go to polls in two phases, 14 constituencies each, on April 18 and 23. According to officials, 241 candidates are in the fray for the first phase of polls on April 18.

For the second phase of elections on April 23, the last day for withdrawal of nominations is April 8.