Top Recommended Stories

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Vote Counting Updates From Madhya Pradesh: BJP to Register Thumping Victory in Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Sidhi, Shahdol, Jabalpur, Mandla

With the counting for the seven-phase Lok Sabha election concluded, the BJP has registered an impressive win from Madhya Pradesh's Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Sidhi, Shahdol, Jabalpur, Mandla seats.

Updated: May 23, 2019 8:39 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Ashna Kumar

Assam Assembly Polls 2021

New Delhi: With counting of voters from all seven phases of Lok Sabha elections 2019 nearing conclusion, here’s a look at the poised winners and their win margins from Madhya Pradesh’s Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Sidhi, Shahdol, Jabalpur, Mandla seats.

Counting of Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) and Postal Ballots were taken up first.

You may like to read


Khajuraho Lok Sabha Constituency

Khajuraho Lok Sabha constituency is one of the crucial seats in Madhya Pradesh. It has sent former MP Chief Minister Uma Bharti to the Parliament four times from 1989 to 1998. Khajuraho has mostly seen a contest between BJP and Congress.

Now, VD Sharma of the BJP is set to win Khajuraho against Congress’ Maharani Kavita Singh by nearly 3,67,000 votes.

Satna Lok Sabha Constituency

The Satna Lok Sabha constituency witnessed a serious fight to dislodge the incumbent BJP MP Ganesh Singh, who has been the parliamentarian from Satna for three consecutive terms now.

Ganesh Singh had won against the Congress candidate Ajay Singh Rahul Bhaiyya in 2014 by a fluke of over 8000 votes. This time the Grand Old Party named Raja Ram Tripathi against Ganesh Singh.

According to Election Commission of India 2009 data, the total electorates in the Satna Parliamentary constituency were 1,207,500 of which 567,572 are females and 639,928 are males.

Notably, sitting MP Ganesh Singh of BJP is set to win against Congress opponent in Satna by as many as 1,11,538 votes.

Rewa Lok Sabha Constituency

The Rewa Lok Sabha constituency is known for its ‘white tigers’ and also for a traditional triangular contest among the BJP, BSP and the Congress. Its sitting MP of the BJP- Janardhan Mishra is seeking re-election this Lok Sabha election.

As per latest reports, Janardan Mishra of the BJP is winning against Congress’ Siddharth Tiwari in Rewa by more than 90,000 votes.

In 2014, he had defeated Sunderlal Tiwari for the Congress, who himself was the MP from Rewa in 1999. But Tiwari has been failing to win from Rewa from the past two terms. This time the Congress named Siddharth Tiwari as its candidate and the CPI (M) too fielded a candidate, one Girjesh Singh Sengar.

Sidhi Lok Sabha Constituency

BJP’s Riti Pathak is slated to win from Sidhi against Ajay Arjun Singh by more than a lakh votes.

The Sidhi Lok Sabha seat is reserved for candidates of the scheduled tribes. The Sidhi Lok Sabha constituency consists of 1,358,291 number of electorates in totality, of these 713,720 are males and 644,571 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

The incumbent MP from Sidhi is Riti Pathak has sought re-election this Lok Sabha 2019 contest. She had won against the Congress’ Indrajeet Kumar in 2014 by nearly 1,00,000 votes. Indrajeet Kumar, on the other hand, has been losing since 2009.

Shahdol Lok Sabha Constituency

In addition, Himadri Singh of the BJP is set to sweep Shahdol against Pramila Singh of the Grand Old Party in Shahdol by a margin of more than 2,74,000 votes.

The Shahdol Lok Sabha constituency is a reserved seat for the schedule tribe candidates. It is known for its agriculture sector.

In 2014, BJP’s Dalpat Singh Paraste had won against Nandini Singh of the Congress but a bypoll was necessitated in the event of his death in 2016. The BJP won the bypoll in 2016 too but with a lesser margin as Paraste’s in 2014.

Jabalpur Lok Sabha Constituency

Rakesh Singh from Jabalpur is poised to win against Vivek Krishna of the Congress by a huge margin of nearly 2,63,000 votes.

Jabalpur Lok Sabha constituency started as a Congress bastion but soon the BJP punctured the voter base of the Grand Old Party in 1982 bypoll and since then, the contest has mostly favoured the BJP.

The sitting MP Rakesh Singh is seeking re-election for the fourth time. He has been winning against multiple Congress candidates since 2004. The Congress meanwhile fielded Vivek Tankha against Singh for the 2019 Lok Sabha election.

As much as 1,446,345 is the total electorate count in the Jabalpur Lok Sabha constituency. Out of these 771,186 number of electorates are males and the remaining 675,159 are belong to the female category as the Election Commission of India 2009 reports suggest.

Mandla Lok Sabha Constituency

Latest trends suggest that Faggan Singh Kulsate is looking at winning Mandla by a margin of 63,000 votes against the Grand Old Party’s Kamal Singh Maravi.

The Mandla Lok Sabha constituency is a reserved seat for scheduled tribe candidates. The reservation of the Mandla constituency was done in 1957, although it fought its first parliamentary elections as the Mandla Jabalpur South constituency in 1951, being an open seat and won by the Indian National Congress.

The sitting BJP MP Faggan Singh Kulaste defended his seat against the Congress’ Kamal Maravi. Kulaste has been the MP for five times now.  Consecutively four times from 1996 and then in 2014. He is now seeking another term while going against the Congress’ Kamal Maravi.

Also Read:

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.