New Delhi: All 20 Lok Sabha seats in Kerala go to polls on April 23. Some of the seats are, Malappuram, Ponnani, Palakkad, Alathur and Thrissur.Also Read - Heavy Rainfall To Continue In Kerala Tomorrow, IMD Issues Orange Alert For 7 Districts | Details Here

Malappuram: The district of Malappuram survives on the revenue generated by NRIs who work in the middle east. The tourism sector is another major source of revenue. Emerging industries in this constituency belong to the trader community of the district. The seat is held by E Ahamed of IUML who defeated CPM’s P K Sainaba. This year, CPM has fielded V P Sanu who is pitted against the BJP’s Unnikrishnan Master. Also Read - Explained: What is Onset of Monsoon And What Does an Early Onset Over Kerala Means?

Ponnani: Ponnani city is one of the oldest ports in the state, contributing to the economy through fishing and other trading activities. In 2014, E T Mohammed Basheer of IUML defeated Independent candidate Abdurahman in a closely fought contest. This year, CPM is supporting Independent candidate P V Anwar who is pitted against the BJP’s V T Rema. Also Read - Kerala To Witness Heavy Rainfall Over Next 3 Days, IMD Issues Red Alert In Ernakulam, Idukki Districts

Palakkad: The Palakkad constituency is politically prominent as it has remained a vote-bank of the CPM since the years of its growth, although the Congress won some of the general elections too. Sitting MP M B Rajesh is hoping for a hattrick as he defends his seat against BJP’s C Krishnakumar and Cong’s V K Sreekantan.

Alathur: The Alathur constituency is dependent on the agricultural sector for the major bulk of its economy. It has textile and power loom industry as well. In 2014, P K Biju of CPM defeated his nearest rival, the Congress candidate. This time around, Biju is defending his seat from Congress’ Remya Haridas.

Thrissur: This is the fourth largest city in Kerala. In 2014 C N Jayadevan of CPI had defeated K P Dhanapalan of the Congress. This year, the BJP has fielded Suresh Gopi while the Congress candidate is T N Prathapan.