Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Jammu and Kashmir has six Lok Sabha constituencies. Let us take a detailed look at Ladakh constituency in Jammu and Kashmir which will go to polls in the fifth phase on May 6. As per the notification issued by the Election Commission of India (EC) on April 10, the last date for filing nominations for the Ladakh seat is April 18. The scrutiny of papers will be held on April 20 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 22, up to 3 PM.Also Read - Hemis Festival 2022: Date, Significance And Highlights of The 2-Day Cultural Event in Ladakh

After the scrutiny of nomination papers on Saturday, seven candidates were left in the fray for the Ladakh Lok Sabha constituency. The last date for withdrawal of names is April 22 in the constituency that is going to the polls on May 6. Meanwhile, the voting hours have been fixed from 7 AM to 6 PM. Also Read - ‘BJP After All Our Mosques; The Kashmir Files Responsible For Violence In Valley’: Mehbooba Mufti

Besides the candidates of the Congress and the BJP, five independents are in the fray. BJP candidate Dorjay Angchuk was rejected during the scrutiny by returning officer Avny Lavasa, stated election officials Also Read - Massive Fire Breaks Out In Forest Areas Of Jammu and Kashmir, Firefighting Operation Underway

While the BJP has fielded the current chief executive councillor (CEC) of the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Tsering Namgyal, the Congress has fielded Rigzin Saplbar, a prominent Buddhist leader and a former CEC of the Ladakh council.

The five independent candidates who are contesting for the Ladakh seat are Asgar Ali Karbalai, Sajjad Hussain, Kacho Mohammad Feroz, Tsering Namgial and Asgar Ali.

Among the independents, Congress rebel and former MLA Asgar Ali Karbalia enjoys the backing of influential Imam Khomeni Memorial Trust, Kargil; while journalist-turned-politician Sajjad Hussain has been supported by both the National Conference and the PDP. He also enjoys the support of influential Islamia School, Kargil.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP leader Thupstan Chhewang had won the seat by a narrow margin of 36 votes, but resigned from the primary membership of the party in November 2018, claiming that all promises made by it sounded like an “empty rhetoric”.

(With agency inputs)