New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday launched its campaign for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections via ‘Vijay Sankalp Sabha’. Union Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman while kickstarting the BJP’s nationwide campaign in Hyderabad attacked the previous Congress-led UPA government at the Centre for not adopting a deterrent measure such as an airstrike back in 2008 after the deadly Mumbai attacks that claimed lives of nearly 166 people.Also Read - Assam Floods: Heavy Downpour Wreaks Havoc, Over 6 Lakh Affected Across 27 Districts | Key Points

Meanwhile, the events will be held in 480 of the country’s 543 Lok Sabha constituencies.  BJP president Amit Shah and other senior leaders of the party will address Vijay Sankalp Sabha in different Lok Sabha constituencies of the country on March 24 and 26, said Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi while confirming the same. Also Read - Kerala: LDF Wins 24 Of 42 Seats In Local Body By-Polls, UDF Bags 12

On the other hand, Samajwadi party released its list of candidates, star campaigners for the Lok Sabha polls. Party chief and former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav will be contesting elections from Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh while senior leader Azam Khan will be fighting from Rampur Lok Sabha constituency. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Azamgarh was won by party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav. Till now the SP has announced a list of 19 candidates. Also Read - Cannes 2022: PM Modi Hails India as Country of Honour, Says 'Cinema Showcases Human Emotions'

The party also released its list of star campaigners with Akhilesh Yadav, Ram Gopal Yadav, Azam Khan, Dimple Yadav and Jaya Bachchan included in the list. Mulayam Singh Yadav’s name was missing from the list.

Live Updates

  • 7:36 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: In Tamil Nadu, Karti Chidambaram said, “I firmly believe the strength of the party and the alliance will help me win the Sivaganga seat. This is the second time I am contesting elections.” (Also read: Congress fielded Karti Chidambaram to contest from Sivaganga earlier in the day.)

  • 7:25 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: Ahead of the election in Tumkur Lok Sabha constituency, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy launched a scathing attack on Congress Lok Sabha member and said, “1 to 2 leaders are unnecessarily creating a disturbance for their personal gain. I think it will be resolved.”

  • 7:16 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: Union Minister Smriti Irani at a public rally in Kanpur said, “Jis haath ne varshon tak Bharat ki tijori ko saaf kiya uss haath ko Bharat ki tijori ke aas pass bhi bhatakne na dein. Jab haathi cycle par sawaar hota hai toh puncture hona nischit hai.”

  • 6:23 PM IST

  • 6:21 PM IST

  • 6:03 PM IST

  • 5:18 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: Speaking about the Telangana campaign in Hyderabad, Defence Minister and BJP leader Nirmala Sitharaman clarified, “This campaign for Telangana itself is invigorating for those of us who are in grind of campaign. I may not be contesting but there are people for whom we all are working. 2019 polls is going to make a big difference for India.”

  • 5:11 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: In Bihar, a day after grand alliance talks with left parties failed, Communist Party of India (CPI) confirmed that former president of JNU’s student’s union Kanhaiya Kumar will contest in the polls from Begusarai constituency.

  • 4:55 PM IST