Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: Congress Triumphs in Punjab, AAP Gets 1 Seat

Congress has secured victory in Punjab. BJP has managed two seats, AAP one. Sunny Deol has won BJP a constituency.

Published: May 24, 2019 1:02 AM IST

By Sharmita Kar | Edited by Sharmita Kar

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: Congress Triumphs in Punjab, AAP Gets 1 Seat
Congress wins by and large in Punjab.

New Delhi: The counting of votes have concluded and the Congress has defeated the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in eight out of thirteen seats including Amritsar, Anandpur Sahib, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Jalandhar, Khadoor Sahib, Ludhiana and Patiala.

Also Read:

Punjab is one of the few states that bucked the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) wave. It is also the only state where the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won a seat.

The AAP which was aiming to bag Delhi NCT seats, has managed none there and only one seat in Punjab from Sangrur led by its Punjab unit President Bhagwant Mann by 110,211 votes. Congress’ Kewal Singh Dhillon conceded defeat in Sangrur.

Some of the most prominent candidates in Punjab this year were Shiromani Akali Dal’s (SAD) husband-wife duo Sukhbir Singh Badal and Harsimrat Kaur Badal who contested and won from Firozpur and Bathinda, respectively.

Bollywood actor-turned-politician, Sunny Deol, was one of the only two winning candidates of the BJP from Gurdaspur in Punjab by 82,459 votes. Deol defeated his rival candidate from the Congress Sunil Jakhar by a margin of 77009 votes. The other seat was grabbed by Som Parkash from Hoshiarpur.

Punjab’s leading debate this Election was on the proposed Kartarpur corrider and the India-Pakistan discussions resulting from the Pulwama and Balakot attacks earlier this year.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest Lok Sabha Elections 2019 India News on India.com.

Published Date: May 24, 2019 1:02 AM IST