Top Recommended Stories

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Vote Counting Updates From Odisha: BJP Set to Win Bargarh, Sundargarh, Sambalpur While BJD Bags Mayurbhanj, Bhadrak, Balasore

With the counting for the seven-phase Lok Sabha election complete, read our story to know about BJP and BJD's divided wins from Odisha's Bargarh, Sundargarh, Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore and Bhadrak seats.

Updated: May 23, 2019 9:55 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Ashna Kumar

UP Block Pramukh Election 2021
UP Block Pramukh Election 2021 : Voting will be held on July 10 from 11 am to 3 pm and the counting will be held after that on the same day.

New Delhi: With counting of votes from all seven phases of Lok Sabha elections 2019 coming to an end, here’s a look at the poised winners and their margins in Odisha’s Bargarh, Sundargarh, Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore and Bhadrak seats.

The Election Commission made all the preparations for smooth and error-free counting of votes from all 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha. Counting of Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) and Postal Ballots were taken up first.

You may like to read


Bargarh Lok Sabha Constituency

In latest trends from Bargarh, Suresh Pujari of the BJP is set to win against Prasanna Acharya of the Biju Janata Dal by 20,000 votes.

The Bargarh Lok Sabha constituency was formed after the 2008 delimitation of assemblies and has seven Vidhan Sabha segments. As per the 2001 census report of India, it had a population of over 63,651.

The current MP is from the Biju Janata Dal (BJD)- Prabhas Kumar Singh, who defeated Subash Chouhan of the BJP in 2014.

In a four-cornered fight, all four parties BJP, Congress, BJD and BSP fielded schedule tribe candidates. Suresh Pujari is from the BJP, Pradeep Kumar Devta of the Congress, Prasanna Acharya of the BJD and BSP’s Kousika Suna were in the fray for the 2019 Lok Sabha contest.

Sundagarh Lok Sabha Constituency

The Sundargarh Lok Sabha constituency is reserved for the candidates of the scheduled tribe.  Since 1984, the seat has seen an MP either from the BJP or the Congress. The incumbent MP too is from the BJP who defeated BJD’ Dilip Kumar Tirkey.

Jual Oram of the BJP seems poised to win from Sundargarh against the Congress’ George Tirkey as Oram has maintained a margin of 44,000 votes for long now.

Sambalpur Lok Sabha Constituency

One of the 21 Lok Sabha constituencies of Odisha, Sambalpur Parliamentary Constituency was formed before the 1952 elections.

The MP from Sambalpur till now was Nagendra Kumar Pradhan of the BJD. He routed the BJP candidate Suresh Pujari in 2014.

The Sambalpur Lok Sabha constituency consists of 1,233,251 number of electorates, of these 636,315 are males and 596,936 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

In a four-cornered fight, BJP’s Nitesh Ganga Deb, Sarat Patnaik of the Congress, Nalini Pradhan of the BJD and Mohammed Mustukim of the BSP locked horns.

Nitesh Ganga Deb of the BJP won the close fight from Sambalpur by maintaining a margin of 13,000 votes against Nalini Kanta Pradhan.

Keonjhar Lok Sabha Constituency

The Keonjhar Lok Sabha constituency is reserved for the candidates of the scheduled tribes. One of the 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha, Keonjhar constituency was formed before the elections of 1957.

Sakuntala Laguri of the BJD is the sitting MP from Keonjhar constituency. She defeated Ananta Nayak of the BJP in 2014.

Chandrani Murmu of BJD wins from Keonjhar by a margin of 7000 votes against BJP’s Ananta Nayak.

Balasore Lok Sabha Constituency

According to Election Commission of India 2009 data, the total electorates in the Balasore Lok Sabha constituency were 1,269,342 of which 616,264 are females and 653,078 are males.

BJD’s Rabindra Kumar Jena is the sitting MP from Balasore and routed Pratap Chandra Sarangi of the BJP. The Bharatiya Janata Party again named Sarangi as its candidate for the 2019 polls. Meanwhile, Jena eyed another term in the Parliament and the Congress, on the other hand, named Navajyoti Patnaik.

According to an ECI report, Rabindra Kumar Jena of the BJD registered a victory by nearly 3,000 votes in Balasore against the BJP’s Pratap Chandra Sarangi.

Bhadrak Lok Sabha Constituency

The Bhadrak Lok Sabha constituency, formed before the elections of 1951, is reserved for the candidates of the scheduled caste. The Bhadrak parliamentary constituency has a total of 1,372,356 electorates.

BJD’s Arjun Charan Sethi had been holding the seat for the past five consecutive terms and once before in 1991. In 2014, he beat Congress’ Sangram Keshari Jena.

Latest reports say Manjulata Mandal of the BJD is likely to win by a margin of over 5,000 votes against BJP’s Avimanyu Sethi.

Mayurbhanj Lok Sabha Constituency

The Mayurbhanj Lok Sabha constituency is reserved for candidates of the scheduled tribe. This constituency was also formed before the 1951 elections and has a total electorate of 1,173,650.

BJD’s Rama Chandra Hansdah is the current MP from Mayurbhanj and he triumphed over the BJP’s Nepole Raghu Murmu in the 2014 Lok Sabha contest.

Dr Debashish Marndi wins a close contest with BJP’s Bishweswar Tudu by only 2000 votes, approximately.

Also Read:

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.