Top Recommended Stories

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Vote Counting Updates: BJD Emerges Victorious in Nabarangpur, Dhenkanal, Kandhamal, Cuttack While BJP Gets Kalahandi, Bolangir

With the counting for the seven-phase Lok Sabha election complete, read to find out how BJD and BJP won Odisha's Jajpur, Dhenkanal, Bolangir, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Kandhamal and Cuttack seats.

Updated: May 23, 2019 10:02 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Ashna Kumar

Picture for representational purpose only
Photo Courtesy: PTI

New Delhi: With counting for all seven phases of Lok Sabha elections 2019 concluding, here’s a look at the poised winners and their margins of victory in Odisha’s Jajpur, Dhenkanal, Bolangir, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Kandhamal and Cuttack seats.

Also Read:

The Election Commission had made all the preparations for smooth and error-free counting of votes from all 21 Lok Sabha constituencies in Odisha. Counting of Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) and Postal Ballots were taken up first.

You may like to read


Nabarangpur Lok Sabha Constituency

In one of the 21 Lok Sabha constituencies in Odisha- Nabarangpur, Ramesh Chandra Majhi of the BJD wins by a margin of over 44,000 votes against Congress’ Pradeep Kumar Majhi.

Nabarangpur was formed prior to the elections of 1951. The Nabarangpur constituency consists of 1,215,653 electorates. The MP till now from the constituency was BJD’s Balabhadra Majhi who won against Pradeep Kumar Majhi in 2014.

Jajpur Lok Sabha Constituency

Jajpur (or Jajapur) Lok Sabha constituency, formed before the 1962 elections, has 1,227,088 registered voters.

BJD’s Rita Tarai defeated Congress’ Asok Das by more than 2,00,000 votes in 2014. The constituency is reserved for candidates of the scheduled caste.

Now, Sarmistha Sethi of the BJP has won Jajpur by a margin of more than 70,000 votes against BJP’s Amiya Mallick.

Dhenkanal Lok Sabha Constituency

One of the 21 constituencies of Odisha, Dhenkanal Lok Sabha constituency was formed prior to the 1957 elections and comprises of seven Vidhan Sabha.

Since 1991, Dhenkanal has seen either an MP from the BJD or the Congress. The current MP from Dhenkanal is Tathagata Satpathy of the BJD who defeated Rudra Narayan of the BJP in 2014.

Latest trends are that Mahesh Sahu of Biju Janata Dal is set to win against BJP’s Rudra Pany by 10,000 votes in Dhenkanal.

Bolangir Lok Sabha Constituency

The Bolangir Lok Sabha constituency was formed before the elections of 1962. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data, the total electorates in the Bolangir parliamentary constituency were 1,443,484 of which 696,325 are females and 747,159 are males.

BJP’s Sangeeta Deo likely to win by more than 20,000 votes in Bolangir against Kalikesh Singh Deo of the BJD.

Kalahandi Lok Sabha Constituency

The Kalahandi parliamentary constituency has a total of 1,421,959 electorates out of which 709,360 are females and 712,599 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

In the fray, for the 2019 Lok Sabha election were BJP’s Basanta Kumar Panda, BSP’s Premananda Bag, Congress’ Bhakta Charan Das and BJD’s Pushpendra Singh Dev.

BJP’s Basanta Kumar Panda wins from Kalahandi against Pushpendra Singh Deo of the BJD by a margin of over 22,000 votes.

Kalahandi Lok Sabha constituency has seven segments of which one is reserved for the SC category and one for the ST category.

Kandhamal Lok Sabha Constituency

Kandhamal Lok Sabha constituency was formed after the 2008 Presidential notification of delimitation of constituencies. The total number of electorates in the Kandhamal Lok Sabha constituency according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,065,279 of which 539,127 are males and 526,152 are females.

Contesting the 2019 Lok Sabha elections are BJP’s Mahameghabaham Aira Kharbela, Congress’ Manoj Kumar Acharya, BSP’s Amir Nayak and the BJD’s Achyut Samanta.

Achyutananda Samanta of Biju Janata Dal wins by nearly 40,000 votes against BJP candidate Mahamesghabahan Aira Kharabela Swain.

Cuttack Lok Sabha Constituency

One of the 21 Lok Sabha constituencies in Odisha is Cuttack, which has a total electorate of 1,283,576. The city of Cuttack is the administrative centre of Cuttack district and is popularly known as the ‘Millennium City’.

In a four-cornered fight for Cuttack, the BJP named Prakash Mishra, Congress nominated Panchanan Kanungo, BJD named Bhartruhari Mahtab and the BSP named Pramod Kumar Mallick.

BJD’s Bhartruhari Mahatab has been the MP from Cuttack for five consecutive terms, starting 1998 and is set to seek re-election this Lok Sabha contest as well.

With over 21,000 votes’ margin, BJD candidate from Cuttack Bhartruhari Mahtab wins against Prakash Singh of the BJP.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

Published Date: May 23, 2019 8:16 AM IST

Updated Date: May 23, 2019 10:02 PM IST