Panaji: Allies Shiv Sena and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) may have reached an understanding in Maharashtra for the coming Lok Sabha elections but in Goa, they’re set for a face-off. Also Read - Amid Slogans of 'Jai Shri Ram', West Bengal Govt Moves Resolution Against Farm Laws

Sena is fielding candidates from both Lok Sabha seats in Goa, pitting them against the BJP. For this, the Sena said their understanding with the BJP was only for Maharashtra and both the parties are free to fight it out in other states. Also Read - Rahul Gandhi Incited Farmers, Tricolour Was Insulted At The Red Fort: BJP On Tractor Rally Violence

In the 2014 elections, the BJP had won both the seats in the state. Shiv Sena, which has been at loggerheads with BJP, had decided to go it alone in the Lok Sabha elections. Also Read - Mira Rajput Flaunts Her Rs 20K Abstract Print Co-ord in Goa And Husband Shahid Kapoor Goes Flirty Over The Look

Eventually, it reached an agreement with BJP to have a pre-poll alliance for the Lok Sabha polls. A decision to this effect was taken by Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray and BJP president Amit Shah who held several rounds of discussion for a pre-poll understanding.

In Maharashtra, the BJP and Shiv Sena are all set to blow the poll bugle from March 24. The decision was reportedly taken in a 2-hour-long late night meeting between Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray at latter’s residence Matoshree in Mumbai. (ALSO READ – Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule Announced by Election Commission)

According to media reports, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will be the star campaigners for the BJP for upcoming general elections. Further, it has also been decided that the BJP and Sena will hold six joint rallies in the state.

The BJP will contest 25 seats, Sena will fight in 23 constituencies in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Maharashtra has a total of 48 Lok Sabha seats that will go to polls in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.