Mumbai: The Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) have finally worked out a formula for Maharashtra for the coming Lok Sabha elections. Between them, Congress and the NCP are following the 26-22 formula, a repeat of their 2014 arrangement. (Catch LIVE Updates of Lok Sabha Elections Here)

Of their seats, however, both the parties have agreed to give away two seats to allies. This means two seats for Swabhimani Shetkari Sangathana, one for Bahujan Vikas Aghadi and one for Independent MLA Ravi Rana whose wife Navneet Kaur is contesting this time.

While the two parties had agreed to an alliance a month ago, the seat-sharing arrangement took all this while as there were differences over seats. Ultimately, they decided to stick to the formula they had adopted during the 2014 polls.

Congress is giving away its Sangli and Palghar seats to accommodate Raju Shetti’s Swabhimani Paksha and Hitendra Thakur’s Bahujan Vikas Aghadi respectively.

On the other hand, the NCP has offered the Hatkanangle seat from its quota to Swabhimani Paksha, and the Amravati seat to Independent MLA Ravi Rana’s wife, Navneet Kaur.

While Rana has floated a new party ahead of the elections, Kaur was NCP’s official candidate for the seat the last time as well. The NCP will put up its own candidates in the remaining 20 seats.

Only a day ago, in another setback to the NCP, its state unit vice president Bharti Pawar on Friday joined the BJP, while Congress leader Pravin Chheda also returned to ruling party. The two leaders joined the BJP in the presence of Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and other senior functionaries of the party in Mumbai.

Pawar had unsuccessfully contested the 2014 Lok Sabha polls from Dindori constituency against BJP’s Harishchandra Chavan.