Hyderabad: With Lok Sabha and Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections around the corner, there is a major upheaval in the state. Four top Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leaders on Saturday joined the YSR Congress Party. (Also read: BSP Won’t Have Any Truck With Cong, Latter Says ‘Don’t Need Her’)Also Read - 40% Newly-Elected RS Members Facing Criminal Charges, Including Murder, Crime Against Women: Report

On Friday, Zee News had reported that these leaders were eyeing a ticket from the YSRCP. Also Read - Section 144 Imposed in Andhra's Amalapuram as Violence Erupts Over Renaming Konaseema District After Ambedkar

Former MLA from Pithapuram Vanga Geetha, TDP leader Adala Prabhakar Reddy, former TDP MLC Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy, and Butta Renuka joined the YSRCP. Also Read - TDP Offices Attacked: Chandrababu Naidu Calls For Andhra Pradesh Bandh Today, Blames YSRCP

Geetha, who represented Pithapuram Lok Sabha constituency from 2009 to 2014 as a Praja Rajyam Party member, joined the party in Hyderabad. She is a TDP MP in the Rajya Sabha.

Saying she was happy to join the YSRCP, Geetha added that only Y S Jagan could do justice to the people through welfare schemes.

Reddy’s leaving TDP comes as a surprise since he had been given a TDP ticket from Nellore Assembly seat. Now he will contest from the same seat but on a YSRCP ticket.

Explaining his defection, Reddy said he had confidence in Jagan Mohan Reddy. “We are confident about JMR (Jagan Mohan Reddy) and believe in his leadership. Hence, I have joined the party,” said Reddy.

Butta Renuka won the Kurnool Lok Sabha seat in 2014 as a YSRCP candidate and later joined the TDP. Reports were rife that Renuka would not get the TDP ticket from Kurnool as former Congress leader Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy had joined the party earlier this year and was seen as the frontrunner for this seat.

Meanwhile, Zee News reported that Dronamraju Srinivas and Konathala Rama Krishna will join YSRCP after Jagan Mohan Reddy’s meeting with Andhra Pradesh Governor on Saturday evening.