New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced the first list of candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Thursday. Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare JP Nadda announced a total of 184 candidates. Also Read - 'Should We Hang Ourselves If Vaccines Are Not Available' Asks Union Minister Sadananda Gowda

PM Modi will contest from Varanasi, Amit Shah from Gandhinagar, Rajnath Singh from Lucknow and Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur. Nadda further said that VK Singh will contest from Ghaziabad, Hema Malini from Mathura, Sakshi Maharaj from Unnao and Smriti Irani from Amethi. Also Read - BJP's Troubleshooter, NE's Most Influential Politician Himanta Biswa Sarma to Take Oath as Assam CM Today

Jugal Kishore will contest from Jammu, Dr Jitendra Singh from Udhampur, Sofi Yousuf from Anantnag and Khalid Jehangir will contest from Srinagar, added Nadda. Subhash Bhamre will contest from Dhule, Hansraj Ahir from Chandrapur, Poonam Mahajan from Mumbai North Central. Also Read - Will Himanta Sarma Outplay Sonowal to Become Assam CM? Crucial Decision Today

Actress Locket Chatterjee has been fielded from Hooghly in West Bengal. Babul Supriyo will contest from Asanasol, Rahul Sinha from Kolkata North and CK Bose from Kolkata South, Nadda further said. Down South, Kummanam Rajasekharan will contest Lok Sabha elections from Thiruvananthapuram where Congress’ Shashi Tharoor is the sitting MP.

Candidates for Karnataka are: Anantkumar Hegde from North Kannada, Sadanand Gowda from Bangalore North, B Y Raghavendra from Shimoga and Prathap Sinha from Mysore.

BJP’s first list covered a total of 20 states. All 17 seats in Bihar have been cleared by CEC and the list of names have been sent to the state election panel. That list will soon be released by NDA, said Nadda.

(Also Read: BJP Releases First List of Candidates For Lok Sabha Elections 2019; PM Narendra Modi to Contest From Varanasi – Full List)

Party sources had earlier said that the saffron party will release the names for candidates for Odisha, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Jammu and Kashmir, Rajasthan, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Tripura, Telangana, Arunachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand. Around 250 names are likely to be announced in the BJP’s first list.

The BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) met several times this week to have finalise the names of the candidates.

BJP, earlier in the day, released its list of 18 candidates for the elections in Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh. The Arunachal Pradesh list contains names of six candidates while the Sikkim’s list has the names of 12 candidates.

While Kripa Babu will contest from Itanagar and Anong Perme from Mariyang Geku in Arunachal Pradesh.

The Lok Sabha elections 2019 will be held in seven phases across the country. The elections will begin on April 11 and the counting of the votes will be held on May 23.