New Delhi: A number of developments took place on Monday ahead of the Lok Sabha elections 2019- including senior leaders from various parties filing their nomination for the polls.Also Read - #ZeeOpinionPoll Finds 'UP Mey Toh Yogi Hai'; BJP To Win 245-267 Seats Against Samajwadi Party 125-148

BJP’s Hema Malini filed her nomination from Mathura, National Conference president Farooq Abdullah from Srinagar, Union minister Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur, former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manji from Gaya constituency in Bihar and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik from Bijepur constituency, among other leaders. Also Read - UP Election 2022: BJP Releases Second List Of Candidates, 46 OBC Leaders To Contest 2022 Assembly Election Under Lotus Symbol; Watch video

Apart from the last day rush to file nominations, the day also witnessed the Nationalist Congress Party releasing its list of star campaigners and Congress leaders, including UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi attending the CWC (Congress’ Central Working) meet. The highlight of the CWC meet was Congress president Rahul Gandhi declaring, “Congress party promises that India’s 20 per cent, most poor families will get yearly 72,000 rupees in their bank accounts under minimum basic income guarantee scheme.” Also Read - Goa Election 2022: Why Congress Refused To Align With Shiv Sena, NCP

He added, “Five crore families and 25 crore people will directly benefit from this scheme. All calculations have been done. There is no such scheme anywhere else in the world.”

Congress’s Central Working Committee (CWC) meeting was held to discuss and give a final shape to the party’s manifesto for the forthcoming polls in underway at party headquarters at Akbar Road.

Meanwhile, Paralympian Deepa Malik joined the BJP on Monday, whereas former Union minister Sukh Ram rejoined the Congress and his grandson Aashray Sharma also joined the party after meeting Rahul Gandhi.

On the other hand, actor turned politician Kamal Haasan met West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in Kolkata to seek her ‘blessings’ and announced that his party Makkal Needhi Maiam will ally with Trinamool Congress in Andaman. He added that he will also campaign for TMC in Andaman. In Maharashtra, Sanjay Nirupam was replaced as the Mumbai Congress president by Milind Deora.

91 constituencies spread over 20 states and union territories will go to polls in the first phase on April 11. The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will begin on April 11 and will be held in seven phases, the Election Commission announced earlier this month. The counting of votes will take place on May 23, 2019.

Live Updates

  • 9:15 PM IST

  • 7:53 PM IST

  • 7:50 PM IST

    LS Polls Live: Milind Deora replaces Sanjay Nirupam as the President of Mumbai Regional Congress Committee.

  • 7:29 PM IST

    LS Polls Live: Congress party releases its list of 26 candidates in Maharashtra and West Bengal for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

  • 6:00 PM IST

    LS Polls Live: Actor turned politician Kamal Haasan is set to campaign for Trinamool Congress candidate in Andaman for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections and declared its party Makkal Needhi Maiam to be a TMC ally in the union territory.

    Haasan met West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in Howrah’s Nabanna on Monday and said that the meeting was fruitful and that the MNM “is an ally to TMC in Andaman”.

    Speaking to the media, Haasan also added that his was a small regional party and therefore he came to take her (Mamata Banerjee) blessings.
  • 4:46 PM IST

    LS Polls Live: Former Union Minister Sukh Ram rejoins Congress and his grandson Aashray Sharma also joins the party after meeting Rahul Gandhi in New Delhi.

  • 4:31 PM IST
    LS Polls Live: Odisha Chief Minister and BJD Chief Naveen Patnaik files nomination for the Bijepur assembly constituency at the Padampur Sub Collector office in Bargarh. He had earlier filed his nomination for the Hinjili assembly constituency as well.
  • 3:47 PM IST

  • 3:43 PM IST

    LS Polls Live: Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy’s son Nikhil Kumaraswamy files nomination as Congress-JD(S) coalition candidate from Mandya.

  • 3:41 PM IST

    LS Polls Live: Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) releases its list of star campaigners for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 for Maharashtra. Sharad Pawar, Praful Patel and Supriya Sule feature on the list among others.