New Delhi: Amit Shah, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president, filed nomination from Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency in Gujarat on Saturday. He was accompanied by union ministers Arun Jaitley, Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari and Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, SAD supremo Parkash Singh Badal and LJP founder Ram Vilas Paswan.Also Read - PM Kisan Samman Nidhi Yojana: Farmers Must Complete e-KYC By THIS Date to Receive 11th Installment

Before filing of the nomination, Shah held a 4-km roadshow, beginning from Sardar Patel Statue in the Naranpura area of Ahmedabad and culminating at Patidar Chowk in the Ghatlodia area, on Saturday. From Patidar Chowk, Shah would head to Gandhinagar in his car to file his nomination papers. Also Read - Assam: Locals Set Batadrava Police Station On Fire In Nagaon After Man Allegedly Dies In Custody

Shah is replacing BJP veteran LK Advani, who had been winning uninterrupted from Gandhinagar since 1998, from the prestigious constituency. Polling for all the 26 seats of Gujarat will take place on April 23. Also Read - Over 500 Families Live On Railway Tracks In Assam Amid Floods

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi sounded the bugle for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in northeast on Saturday with multiple rallies in Arunachal Pradesh and Assam.

He addressed a public meeting at ITBP Ground, Aalo in West Siang district of Arunachal Pradesh. The PM also addressed an election rally in Moran of Dibrugarh. Later in the day, he will be addressing the gathering at Ghaigaon in Gohpur of Assam. In Lok Sabha Elections 2014, the BJP had won seven seats in Assam and one seat in Arunachal Pradesh.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will be held in seven phases, beginning April 11. The counting of votes across India will be conducted on May 23.

Live Updates

  • 7:33 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Live: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and Telugu Desam Party leader N Chandrababu Naidu holds a public rally in Rajam, in Srikakulam district.

  • 6:07 PM IST
    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Live: UP CM assured me yesterday that our grievances will be heard and dealt with. Nishad Party will contest on its own symbol. NDA will decide who will contest from where, said Nishad Party chief, Sanjay Nishad, on joining NDA alliance for upcoming polls.
  • 6:05 PM IST
    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Live: Jaya Prada, BJP MP candidate from Rampur on Sambhal SP leader Firoz Khan’s comment ‘Rampur ki shaamein rangeen ho jaayengi ab jab chunavi mahual chalega’ on her: Unpe toh already case lag gaya hai…SP (Samajwadi Party) walon ke yahi sanskar hain.
  • 5:06 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Live: Arjun Charan Sethi resigns from Biju Janata Dal after his son Abhimanyu Sethi wasn’t given a ticket from the party. He has joined Bharatiya Janata Party along with his son.

  • 4:45 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Live: Siliguri authorities deny permission to BJP to hold PM Modi’s rally in Siliguri. PM is to hold two rallies on April 3 in Kolkata’s Brigade Parade Grounds and in Siliguri.

  • 4:35 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Live: Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray in Ahmedabad: We did not come to demonstrate our power as it is obvious that the alliance is powerful. Now that BJP and Shiv Sena have come together the Opposition is bound to be defeated.

  • 3:59 PM IST

  • 3:53 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Live: “Mein ek chowkidar hun, mein ek chowkidar hun…aap bhi hain na?”, asks Prime Minister Narendra Modi to the public present at his rally in Gohpur, Assam.

  • 3:07 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Live: Maratha leader Pravin Gaikwad joins Congress in the presence of Mallikarjun Kharge, Ashok Chavan and KC Venugopal.

  • 2:21 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Live: Amit Shah files nomination from Gandhinagar seat. He has replaced LK Advani as candidate from the constituency. Before filing the nomination, he had held a 4-km roadshow in Ahmedabad and even addressed the public along with Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, Union Minister Rajnath Singh among others.