New Delhi: Congress President Rahul Gandhi addressed a rally in Arunachal Pradesh’s Itanagar on Tuesday ahead of the first phase of the Lok Sabha polls in the state which will be held on April 11. The Congress chief launched an attack on Prime Minister Narendra over the Pulwama terror attack and said that it took almost three-and-a-half hours for the PM to reach the J-K as he was busy posing at the Jim Corbett Park.Also Read - Amritsar East: BJP Fields Jagmohan Singh Raju, IAS Officer Who Took Voluntary Retirement, Against Sidhu In Punjab Polls

Terming the Good and Services Tax (GST) as ‘Gabbar Singh Tax’, Rahul promised to remove the indirect tax and give people the real ‘GST’. “We have decided, as soon as we form the government in 2019 we will remove the Gabbar Singh Tax and give you the GST.” Also Read - Zee Opinion Poll Projects BJP to Win 7 Seats in UP’s Bareilly And SP Just 2 Seats | Details Here

Rahul said, “Pulwama mein attack hua, maine apne program cancel kiye, bomb phatne ke ekdum baad, Narendra Modi, Corbett Park mein, apni picture bana rahe the. Wahan Pulwama main log shaheed hue, aur PM, 3.5 ghante baad, make up laga ke, baal bana ke pose kar rahe the.” Also Read - BJP May Win 4 Seats, SP Only 2 From Budaun District in UP’s Rohilkhand, Says Zee Opinion Poll

Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are also scheduled to hold a rally in Uttar Pradesh’s Mainpuri constituency today.

As per reports, BSP chief Mayawati and veteran leader Mulayam Singh Yadav will share the stage after a gap of nearly two decades. SP chief Akhilesh Yadav and Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) chief Ajit Singh are also expected to be a part of this mega rally.

Here’s the schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 for the First Phase.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019:
Phase 1
No. of Seats in Respective StatesAndhra Pradesh (25), Arunachal Pradesh (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), Sikkim (1), Telangana (17), Uttarakhand (5), Meghalaya (2), Andaman & Nicobar Islands (1), Manipur (1), Tripura (1), Assam (5), Chhattisgarh (1), Maharashtra (7), Odisha (4), Jammu and Kashmir (2), Bihar (4), Uttar Pradesh (8) and West Bengal (2).
Total No. of Seats91
Total No. of States20

Earlier today, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) released the third list of 36 candidates for the upcoming elections to the state legislative assembly. The polling will be held on April 11. The party also released the list of 25 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019 wherein Ashok Gajapathi Raju is all set to contest from Vizianagaram, Kesineni Srinivas from Vijayawada, Galla Jayadev from Guntur and N Sivaprasad from Chittoor.

The Janata Dal (Secular) also announced the names of 11 candidates for the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly election and one for Lok Sabha polls. The JD(S) is contesting for the first time in the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly election and in the two Lok Sabha seats in the state.

JD(S) convener for the northeast, former chief minister Gegong Apang, will contest from Tuting-Yingkiong constituency in Upper Siang district while JD(S)state president Rokom Apang.

Campaigning is on in full swing ever since the Election Commission (EC) issued a notification for the first phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Polling for the 91 parliamentary constituencies will be held across 20 states on April 11.

The nomination process has started and would continue till March 25 while the scrutinisation of the nomination papers will be held on March 26. The last day of withdrawing nomination is March 28.

Live Updates

  • 9:53 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 LIVE: “Congress has officially conveyed to us that there will be no alliance. We are not in talks with Congress. Media reports stating that talks (between AAP & Congress) have been finalized, are planted by them,” AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal said.

  • 9:15 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 LIVE: “BJP will change all 11 sitting MPs in this election, CEC has approved it,” Chhattisgarh BJP in-charge & National General Secretary Anil Jain said.

  • 9:01 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 LIVE: Prime Minister Narendra Modi to address around 25 lakh ‘chowkidars’ via audio bridge tomorrow to celebrate Holi.

  • 8:48 PM IST

  • 8:25 PM IST

  • 8:12 PM IST

  • 8:04 PM IST

  • 7:51 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 LIVE: BJP Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting begins at the party headquarters. Discussions will be held on seats in 10 states including Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, and Odisha.

  • 7:51 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 LIVE: Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives for the BJP Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting at the party headquarters in Delhi. BJP President Amit Shah receives him.

  • 6:58 PM IST