New Delhi: The Assam unit of National People’s Party (NPP) declared its first list of 5 candidates for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019.Also Read - Assam Floods: Heavy Downpour Wreaks Havoc, Over 6 Lakh Affected Across 27 Districts | Key Points

The party has fielded Nazia Yasmin Mazumdar from Silchar, Ram Bahadur Sunar from Tezpur, Abdul Aziz from Kaliabor, Kamala Rajkonwar from Jorhat and Bhaben Baruah from Dibrugarh. Also Read - Passenger Train in Haflong Station Topples As Flash Flood Wreaks Havoc in Assam, Disturbing Visuals Emerge | Watch

Also Read - Weather Updates: No Heatwave In Delhi For Next 4 days, Monsoon Hits Andaman, Kerala Braces For Heavy Rains, 2 Lakh Hit By Assam Floods

The NPP was recently in the news after 18 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders called it quits and joined Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma’s NPP.

Among the 18 leaders are party general secretary Jarpum Gambin, Home Minister Kumar Waii, Tourism Minister Jarkar Gamlin and six other legislators.

The development came after these leaders were denied tickets for the upcoming polls. The leaders also alleged that in Arunachal Pradesh, three tickets have gone to the family members of Chief Minister Pema Khandu.

The other leaders to join the party were sitting BJP legislators Thangwang Wangham, Tapuk Taku, Pani Taram, Pangka Bage, Wangling Lowandong and Kardo Nyigyor and ex-minister Tsering Journey. “NPP would now try to field candidates for at least 30-40 seats in the 60-member assembly. We will form our own government if we win in all the seats,” said senior NPP leader Thomas Sangma.

National Peoples Party, a key BJP ally has decided to go solo across the northeast this coming election.