Malda: With the mahagathbandhan failing to take off in West Bengal and all parties going it alone in the coming Lok Sabha elections, the daggers are out and leaders are openly taking potshots at each other. (Catch LIVE Updates of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Here)

During a rally in Malda on Saturday, Congress President Rahul Gandhi said, “Aapne salon CPM ko dekha, phir aapne Mamata ji ko chuna, jo atyachaar CPM ke samay hota tha, wahi atyachaar Mamata ji ke samay mein ho raha hai. Us waqt ek sangathan ke liye sarkar chalai jati thi, aaj ek vyakti ke liya chalai jati hai (You have seen the CPM rule for years. Then you elected Mamataji to power. Whatever you suffered during the CPM rule is the same that is happening now, under Mamataji’s rule. First, the government was running according to one organisation, now it runs as per one individual).”

He alleged that Mamata does not consult anyone from the party and does what she wants to. “You don’t have to be scared. You will see what we can do once we form the government at the Centre,” he said.

The Congress would be contesting from all 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state after failing to reach an understanding with the Left Front.

The grand old party’s decision came a couple of days after the Left Front announced its candidates in 25 seats out of 42 parliamentary seats in West Bengal.

“Left Front announced its candidates in 25 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal on March 15 without any discussion with West Bengal Congress. Due to the unyielding behaviour of CPI (M) and its ally parties in the Left Front, we are calling off the proposed seat sharing in the state and have decided to fight BJP and Trinamool Congress in Bengal with our own force,” West Bengal Congress president Somen Nath Mitra was quoted as saying by ANI.

Meanwhile, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) has also announced its list of candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state. Party chief Mamata Banerjee said that the outgoing TMC lawmakers whose names do not figure in the list will be drafted for party work.

With this, she also made another major announcement saying the party will field 40.5 per cent women candidates as opposed to 35 per cent women MPs in 2014.