Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Uttar Pradesh’s Shahjahanpur parliamentary constituency which is reserved for members of Scheduled Castes is currently being held by Union minister Krishna Raj of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). This region is known for its association with late Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) chief Rajju Bhaiyya. Also Read - Living in Uttar Pradesh? Now Obtain License to Keep Liquor at Home | Read Govt's Latest Guidelines

The BJP won this seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. This time, the BJP has fielded Arun Sagar, a senior party functionary from the Braj region. Amar Chandra Jauhar, who has contested twice on a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) ticket both in 2009 and 2014, will be the party’s candidate from Shahjahanapur constituency. Meanwhile, Congress has fielded Brahma Swarup Sagar from this constituency. Also Read - Supreme Court Rejects Plea Seeking 'Free And Fair' Elections in West Bengal

The percentage of votes polled in 2014 was 57.08 per cent. The number of women voters in 2014 was 879,274 and the number of polling booths in 2014 was 2,239. Also Read - BJP Tweets Old Video of Mamata Banerjee Reciting Islamic Prayer, Slams Bengal CM For Her Netaji Event Reaction

The other constituency is the Kheri Lok Sabha seat whose sitting MP is BJP’s, Ajay Kumar. The other leaders who are in the fray are Samajwadi Party’s (SP) Purvi Verma, daughter of Ravi Prakash Verma and Zafar Ali Naqvi of Congress.

Three members of one family have won the Kheri Lok Sabha seat for three times each in the past. Congress leader Balgovind Verma was successful on this seat from 1962 to 1971 and again in 1980 as Indian National Congress (Indira) candidate. His wife Usha Verma also represented the seat thrice and her son Ravi Prakash Verma successfully fought as a Samajwadi Party leader in 1998, 1999 and 2004.

The percentage of votes polled in 2014 in Kheri constituency was 64.18 per cent. The number of women voters in 2014 Lok Sabha elections was 774,603.

Hardoi is another Lok Sabha seat which is reserved for members of Scheduled Castes and is held by the BJP. Ilyas Azmi of BSP got elected from Hardoi in 2004 and in the next election in 2009 SP’s Usha Verma won this seat. However, in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP’s Anshul Verma defeated Verma.

The other candidates who are in the fray are BSP’s Usha Verma, BJP’s Jai Prakash Rawat and Congress’ Virendra Kumar Verma.

Another constituency which is reserved for members of Scheduled Castes is Misrikh Lok Sabha seat. Misrikh constituency has fielded Neelu Satyarthi from BSP, Ashok Rawat from BJP and Manjari Rahi from Congress.

It must be noted that Misrikh constituency has elected Congress candidates 7 times, BSP leaders thrice, BJP nominees twice and SP once.

The high-profile Unnao Lok Sabha seat is presently being held by the BJP. BJP member Sakshi Maharaj won the seat in the 2014 election. The other candidates who are in the fray are- Arun Kumar Shukla from SP and Anu Tandon from Congress.

Uttar Pradesh has 80 parliamentary constituencies. Among these, 17 constituencies are reserved for SCs that is, Nagina, Bulandshahr, Hathras, Agra, Shahjahanpur, Hardoi, Misrikh, Mohanlalganj, Etawah, Jalaun, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Bahraich, Bansgaon, Lalganj, Machhlishahr, and Robertsganj. There are no constituencies reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

UP will go to polls in all the seven phases of the Lok Sabha elections and the votes will be counted on May 23.