Lucknow: The BJP, hoping to repeat its landslide win of 2014 in Uttar Pradesh, is aiming to repeat its performance in 2019 Lok Sabha elections. It is no surprise then, that the saffron party has given the charge of western UP to some of its senior ministers in the state. Also Read - Two Men Cheat UK-Returned Doctor, Sell Him ‘Aladdin ka Chirag’ For Rs 2.5 Cr in Meerut

Reports suggest that the party handed over two Lok Sabha seats each to its ministers. Now, it has shifted its focus on seats where it may not fare too well. Among the seats going to polls in the first and the second phase, the seats likely to cause some heartache to the saffron party are Meerut, Nagina, Amroha, Mathura and Saharanpur. Also Read - Uttar Pradesh: Woman's Headless Body Found Stuffed in Sack in Meerut

Also Read - Uttar Pradesh: Major Fire Breaks Out at Chemical Factory in Meerut, 6 Fire Tenders on Spot

Shahjahanpur, that goes to polls in the fourth phase, is also on this list. UP Health Minister Siddharth Nath Singh is focusing on Meerut, Neelkanth Tiwari has Nagina under him, Sports Minister Chetan Chauhan is looking after Amroha and Swami Prasad Maurya is busy in Badaun.

Likewise, Suresh Rana has been handed over the charge of Saharanpur while Energy Minister Shrikant Verma is looking after Mathura and Agriculture Minister Surya Pratap Shahi is in charge of Shahjahanpur.

A local daily quoted BJP leader Vijay Bahadur Singh as saying, “The BJP is making every effort to ensure an excellent performance in the first and the second phase. Every seat is being looked after by a minister. We will not leave any stone unturned to repeat our performance.”

Some reports suggest that workers in Meerut, Nagina, Amroha, Mathura, Saharanpur, Badaun and Shahjahanpur aren’t happy with the party candidates. That is why the BJP high command has roped in ministers to use their clout in keeping the pack together and ensuring a win.