New Delhi:  With the BJP heading for a landslide victory in the Lok Sabha polls, the saffron party’s supporters burst firecrackers and blew conch to express their happiness.  Under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the ruling party decimated Congress-led UPA by winning over 300 seats on its own. Reports claimed that the BJP along with its allies could end up with 343 of the 542 Lok Sabha seats where polling took place in seven phases from April 11.Also Read - Jagdeep Dhankar Wins Vice Presidential Election, Will Take Oath on Aug 11

Reacting over positive trends, PM Modi tweeted,”सबका साथ + सबका विकास + सबका विश्वास = विजयी भारत. Together we grow. Together we prosper. Together we will build a strong and inclusive India. India wins yet again! #VijayiBharat.” Also Read - Mamata Banerjee Meets PM Modi, Discusses MGNREGA, PM Awas Yojna, GST Dues in West Bengal

Amit Shah attacked Opposition and asserted, “Today’s mandate also shows that the people of India have chosen evolution and nationalism by completely uprooting casteism.” Also Read - Priyanka Gandhi Dragged Into Police Van As Congress Leaders Detained During Protest Against Price Rise, Unemployment

“The result is India’s mandate against propaganda, lies, personal insinuations and baseless politics by the opposition,” tweeted the BJP president.

The counting of votes for 542 Lok Sabha seats, voting for which took place in seven phases from April 11 to May 19 started at 8 AM. However, the final results will be declared only by late evening due to tallying of Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail slips (VVPATs) with count of the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

Though the exercise of matching EVM results with paper trail machine (VVPAT) slips was being held in various assembly elections, this is the first time it will be undertaken in Lok Sabha polls. Stay tuned to for fastest updates on Lok Sabha elections 2019 results.

Nearly 67.11 per cent of the 90.99 crore electors had cast their vote in the seven phase elections.This is the highest ever-voter turnout in Indian parliamentarian elections. Over 8,000 candidates were in the fray but alll eyes will be set on Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi. While exit polls had given an upper hand to the NDA, it will be interesting to watch what the people of India have actually decided for the next 5 years.

Many of the exit polls had projected over 300 seats to the NDA, seeing it sail past the 272 majority mark in the Lok Sabha. In West Bengal and Odisha, the saffron party was projected to make major gains. However, a clear projection failed to emerge from Uttar Pradesh.

Meanwhile, poll pundits had predicted an absolute victory for the saffron party in Hindi hearlands such as Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Uttarakhad, Haryana and Delhi. BJP was also predicted to register victory on all 22 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat. In Punjab, the exit polls had predicted victory for the Congress. Meanwhile in Bihar, exit polls had given 30 seats to NDA and 10 seats to the Opposition alliance.

Coming to South Indian states, many of the exit polls had predicted a clean win for Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP In in Andhra Pradesh while some of them asserted that there would be a tough fight between TDP and YSRCP. In Telangana, K Chandrasekhar Rao’s TRS was projected to emerge victorious while in Tamil Nadu Congress-DMK alliance was predicted to major gains. In Karnataka, exit polls had forecase defeat for Congress-JD(S) coalition.

In Jammu and Kashmir, exit polls had predicted a huge loss for Mehbooba Mufti’s PDP. NC and Congress was projected to get 3 seats each and the BJP two.

In a bid to avoid any untoward incident, the Centre yesterday issued an alert to the states regarding the possibility of violence in different parts of the country in connection with the counting of votes. The alert was communicated by the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) to the state Chief Secretaries and Directors General of Police.

MHA has asked the states and the Union Territories (UTs) to maintain law and order, peace and public tranquility. The states and the UTs were further asked to take adequate measures to safeguard the strong rooms where the EVMs are kept and the venues of counting of votes. The alert mentioned that it was being issued in the wake of calls given and statements made in various quarters for inciting violence and causing disruption on counting day.

When the final results will be declared?

The entire exercise of EVM-Paper trail machine matching will take an additional four to five hours. The EVM-VVPAT matching will take place in five polling stations per assembly segment which effectively means that of the total 10.3 lakh polling stations, the exercise will be carried out in 20600 such stations. Stay tuned to for fastest and accurate results. As per the procedure, first the slips will be counted and the EVM displays would be switched on later to match the results. In case of a mismatch, the results based in paper slip count will be considered as final.

Live Updates

  • 9:54 PM IST
    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to become the first non-Congress man to retain power with second consecutive term with full majority on his own as BJP-led NDA registered a landslide victory in the Lok Sabha elections. The ruling coalition decimated Congress-led UPA by bagging over 340 seats.
  • 9:45 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE: PM Narendra Modi is also likely to meet President Ram Nath Kovind on Friday.

  • 9:44 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE: The 17th Lok Sabha has to be constituted before June 3 and the process to form a new House will be initiated when the three Election Commissioners meet the President in the next few days to hand over the list of newly elected members.

  • 9:43 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE: The Union Cabinet will meet on Friday evening to recommend the dissolution of the 16th Lok Sabha. After the Cabinet’s recommendation is passed in the form of a resolution, President Ram Nath Kovind will dissolve the present Lok Sabha, the term of which is ending on June 3.

  • 9:41 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE: RSS welcomes BJP’s victory, calls it “triumph of national forces”

  • 9:24 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumars JD (U) wrested Bhagalpur seat from arch rival Lalu Prasads RJD with Ajay Mandal defeating sitting MP Shailesh Kumar alias Bulo Mandal by a thumping margin of 2.66 lakh votes.

  • 9:21 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE: Singapore’s Emeritus Senior Minister and former Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong has written a congratulatory letter to PM Narendra Modi.

  • 9:20 PM IST

  • 9:20 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE: Asaduddin Owaisi won the Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat

  • 9:19 PM IST

    Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE: PDP president Mehbooba Mufti lost the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat. National Conference’s Justice (retd) Hasnain Masoodi defeated her by nearly 10,000 votes.