Live Updates

  • 8:48 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: Giriraj Singh will contest from Bihar’s Begusarai only. He wanted to contest from Nawada but I have faith that Giriraj Singh will not go against party’s decision, says Sushil Modi.

  • 8:44 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: “Congress party is going to give young entrepreneurs complete exemption for 3 years, you won’t need to take any permission from the government. You can file for the permissions you need after 3 years, ” says Rahul Gandhi while addressing a rally in Jaipur.

  • 8:07 PM IST

  • 7:21 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: Former BJP leaders Ghanshyam Tiwari and Surendra Goyal have joined Congress in presence of Congress President Rahul Gandhi in Rajasthan.

  • 7:10 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman who is Kerala, attacked the left government saying the BJP will take up the issue of terrible inheritance of violence. She said, “CPI (M) cadres function alongside police like they did when they were in West Bengal, and which unfortunately even Mamata Banerjee inherited incidentally.”

  • 6:53 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: Samjawadi Party released another list of candidates– Devendra Yadav from Etah, Hemraj Verma from Pilibhit and Anand Sen from Faizabad.

  • 6:28 PM IST
    LS Polls LIVE: Congress released another list of candidates, two from Gujarat and one from Uttar Pradesh for Lok Sabha Elections 2019.
  • 6:14 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: Satyadev Pachauri will contest for BJP from Uttar Pradesh’s Kanpur while Virendra Singh Mast will contest from Ballia.

  • 6:13 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: Congress publicity committee meeting underway at the residence of P. Chidambaram. Leaders including Divya Spandana, Pawan Khera and Sam Pitroda are present.

  • 6:12 PM IST

    LS Polls LIVE: BJP releases a list of 29 candidates for Uttar Pradesh and 10 candidates for West Bengal.

New Delhi: Congress president Rahul Gandhi visited Rajasthan on Tuesday during which he announced that after 2019, for three years Congress party is going to give young entrepreneurs complete exemption. For the next three years, the entrepreneurs wouldn’t need to take any permission from the government. “You can file for the permissions you need after 3 years,” said Rahul.

He later met his party workers at Ramlila Maidan in Jaipur. The workers’ meet was attended by shortlisted booth-level activists from all 200 assembly segments of the state. This is Gandhi’s first visit to the state for poll campaigning in the run-up to the Lok Sabha elections. Rajasthan, which has 25 Lok Sabha seats, will go to polls in two phases. Elections on 13 seats will be held on April 29 and on remaining 12 seats on May 6.

Meanwhile, Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool is likely to release its Lok Sabha election manifesto. The manifesto will not only focus on Bengal but will have a national perspective stating the role TMC needs to play in constituting a new government at the Centre.

Apart from English and Bengali, the manifesto is likely to be released in Hindi, Nepali, Santhali and few other languages too with the Trinamool Congress fielding as many as 24 candidates from Odisha, Jharkhand, Assam, Bihar and the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Besides, BJP leaders are expected to take on Congress president Rahul Gandhi at the Vijay Sankalp Sabha over his promise of providing Rs 72,000 each year to 20 per cent of the poorest families. The BJP has organised Vijay Sankalp Sabha in 480 of the country’s 543 Lok Sabha constituencies.

BJP president Amit Shah and other senior leaders including Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath, Deputy CM Keshav Prasad, Union Ministers Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh are expected to address the Vijay Sankalp Sabha in different Lok Sabha constituencies of the country today.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will begin on April 11 and will be held in seven phases, the Election Commission announced earlier this month. The counting of votes will take place on May 23, 2019.