Lucknow: The counting of the votes for Lucknow Lok Sabha Seat Elections 2019 has begun.Also Read - Omicron Scare: How Uttar Pradesh is Preparing to Tackle New COVID Variant | Key Points

Stay tuned for the live updates on the Lok Sabha Election results here. Also Read - PM Modi 'Tested' Thrice For Covid, Amit Shah Twice And Priyanka Chopra 6 Times in Bihar's Arwal

What has been the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) bastion since 1991, Lucknow is a crucial constituency in the Awadh region of 80-seat Uttar Pradesh that went to polls on May 6, fifth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Also Read - Nagaland Violence: Govt Regrets 14 Civilian Deaths in Botched Army Operation, Amit Shah Tells Lok Sabha. Full Statement Here

The Uttar Pradesh capital constituency has a total of 19,58,847 voters among which 9,04,628 are females and a total of 29 candidates contested for the seat this year.

This year the war of seats is between BJP’s Rajnath Singh, who will be running for a second term, and Samajwadi Party’s (SP) Poonam Sinha, wife of veteran actor Shatrughan Sinha, who is making an electoral debut this year. Congress is also contesting the Nawabi seat with Pramod Krishnan as its candidate. Early trends showed Rajnath had taken a lead.

In 2014, BJP’s Rajnath Singh swept votes defeating the Congress by a margin of 26 per cent. From 1991 to 2004, the seat had been guarded for five consecutive terms by the BJP’s former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee who died on August 16, 2018 owing to health reasons. Since then, Lucknow has remained a stronghold for the BJP.

It is also noteworthy that in March this year, the SP joined hands with its arch-rival Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), headed by Mayawati in a gathbandhan (alliance) to defeat the BJP in Uttar Pradesh.

URL: Lucknow Lok Sabha Seat Result 2019 live updates: Rajnath Singh vs Poonam Sinha

Excerpt: Stay here for all information and live updates on Lucknow Lok Sabha Seat Result 2019