New Delhi: One of the 48 parliamentary constituencies of Maharashtra, Thane was formed prior to the elections of 1951. The incumbent MP is Shiv Sena’s Vichare Rajan Baburau, who won against the NCP’s Sanjeev Niak by nearly 2,00,000 votes in 2014.Also Read - Attention Mumbaikars! Mumbai, Thane and Other Regions to Face 10% Regular Water Cut Starting Today

Click here for Lok Sabha elections 2019 updates Also Read - IMD Issues Heavy Rain Alert For Mumbai, Thane on Tuesday; Says Monsoon in Delhi Around Usual Date

Naik was the NCP MP from Thane in 2009. This time the NCP is fielding Anand Paranjpe from Thane. The Thane Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 25) consists of 1,806,803 number of electorates in totality, of these 998,792 are males and 808,011 are females. Also Read - Maharashtra: Man, Son Held For Repeatedly Raping Teenage Niece From UP

The Mumbai-North constituency was formed prior to 1951 too. It comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments and it is one of the parliamentary constituencies representing Mumbai city. This Lok Sabha seat has been a traditional battlefield of the BJP and the Congress.

The current MP is BJP’s Gopal Chinayya Shetty, who won against Congress’ Sanjay Nirupam in 2014 by approximately 4,00,000 votes. Nirupam was the MP in 2009. BJP’s Ram Naik has been the MP from Mumbai North five times (from 1989-1999).

The Congress has fielded filmstar-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar from this seat against the incumbent Shetty of the BJP.

The Mumbai North-west constituency has been a Shiv Sena, Congress battleground. The current sitting member of parliament of the Mumbai North West constituency is Shri Gajanan Chandrakant Kirtika of the Shiv Sena. Kirtikar won in 2014 against Kamat Gurudas Vasant of the Congress by around 1,50,000 votes. This time the Congress is fielding Sanjay Nirupam against the Shiv Sena’s Gajanan Kirtikar.

According to an ECI report dated 2009, total electorates in the Mumbai North East Parliamentary constituency  were 1,572,890 of which 700,239 are females and 872,651 are males.

In an on and off fight between the BJP and the Congress, the former’s candidate Kirit Somaiya won in 2014 againt Sanjay Dina Patil of the NCP. Patil was also the MP in 2009 after he routed Somaiya by a wafer thin margin 2,900 votes.

The NCP is once again fielding Patil this time against the BJP’s Manoj Kotak

The Mumbai North-Central constituency was formed before 1952. It comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments.  The Mumbai North Central Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 29) has a total of 1,681,985 electorates out of which 743,036 are females and 938,949 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

The sitting MP is BJP’s Poonam Rao, who won against Priya Dutt in 2014 by 1,86,000 votes. Poonam Rao is now seeking a re-election, whereas Dutt is contesting against her once again on the Congress ticket. Dutt was the MP in 2009.