Kolkata: Five West Bengal Lok Sabha constituencies go to polls in phase three on April 23. Here’s a look at the constituencies of Maldaha Uttar, Balurghat, Maldaha Dakshin, Jangipur and Murshidabad of West Bengal:

Maldaha Uttar: In 2014, Mausam Noor of Congress defeated Khagen Murmu of CPM. This time, Noor hopes for a hattrick but has been fielded by TMC. Murmu has now been fielded by BJP and Congress candidate is Isha Khan Choudhary.

Balurghat: It is considered to be the trading hub of North West Bengal and deals in rice, jute, oil seeds and sugarcane trade. In 2014, Arpita Ghosh of AITC defeated Bimalendu Sarkar of RSP. This year, the sitting MP has been fielded by TMC. The list of candidates also has Sukanta Majumdar of BJP, Sadik Sarkar of Congress, and BSP’s Nalin Chandra Murmu.

Maldaha Dakshin: Abu Hasem Khan Chowdhury of Congress is aiming for a hattrick this year. He is pitted against BJP’s Sreerupa Mitra Choudhury and TMC’s Dr Moazzem Hossain.

Jangipur: Agriculture is the primary economic activity and mangoes, rice, jute and wheat are the chiefly cultivated crops. Sitting MP and Congress candidate Abhijit Mukherjee is hoping for a hattrick. BJP has fielded Mafuja Khatun, TMC has Khalilur Rehman and CPM has fielded Zulfikar Ali

Murshidabad: Agriculture and tourism are the major economic activities of the area. It is one of the 250 most backward districts of the country and has 64% Muslim population. Since 1980, this seat has been won by either CPM or the Congress. Badaruddozza Khan of CPM is the sitting MP. This year, he is pitted against BJP’s Humayun Kabir, Congress’ Abu Hema and TMC’s Abu Taher Khan.