Top Recommended Stories

West Bengal Lok Sabha Seats: Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur –Key Contenders, Other Details

All you need to know about Medinipu,r Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur Lok Sabha Seats in West Bengal.

Published: April 25, 2019 12:17 AM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Ashna Kumar

Lok Sabha Elections 2019
Lok Sabha Elections 2019

New Delhi: Medinipur is one of West Bengal’s 42 Lok Sabha constituencies- and it came into existence before the 1951 elections were held. It comprises of seven Vidhan Sabha segments, out of which one is reserved for the Scheduled Tribe.

Click here for all updates on Lok Sabha elections 2019

You may like to read

There are a total of 1262983 electorates in the constituency.

The incumbent MP is Trinamool Congress’ Sandhya Roy, who defeated the CPI’s sitting MP since 2009 Prabodh Panda by over 1,80,000 votes.

The seat of Medinipur will be contested amongst the TMC’s Dr. Manas Bhunia, Dilip Ghosh of the BJP and the Congress’ Sambhunath Chatterjee.

The Purulia Lok Sabha constituency was formed prior to the 1951 elections and is made up of seven segments. The total number of electorates according to the Election Commission of India report of 2009, is 1,257,799 of which 649,056 are males and 608,743 are females.

The incumbent MP is Trinamool Congress’ Dr. Mriganka Mahato, who won against the All India Forward Bloc candidate Narahari Mahato by nearly 1,50,000 votes.

Mriganka is seeking re-election in this Lok Sabha contest against the BJP’s Jyotirmoy Mahto and Nepal Mahato of the Congress.

The Bankura Lok Sabha seat has traditionally seen a fight between the Left and the Congress since 1951. Its incumbent MP from the Trinamool Congress Moon Moon Sen broke into the CPM citadel in 2014 by routing the nine consecutive term MP Acharia Basudeb by a thin margin of 98,000 votes. Basudeb had been the MP from 1980 to 2009.

In fray for Bankura are the BJP’s Dr. Subhash Sarkar, Amiya Patra from the Congress and Subrata Mukherjee from the TMC.

The total number of electorates in the Bishnupur Lok Sabha constituency according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,237,948 of which 647,069 are males and 590,879 are females.

Saumitra Khan of the TMC is the incumbent MP from Bishnupur, who defeated Saustri Bauri in 2014 by over 1,49,000 votes.

Also Read:

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.