New Delhi: In high voltage poll campaigning, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi are slated to address rallies in Karnataka on Saturday, only 100 km apart- entailing a massive political showdown. Also Read - Police Denies Permission To JP Nadda's 'Poriborton Yatra' in Bengal' Barrackpore, BJP Says Will Move Court

Click for all Lok Sabha elections 2019 updates Also Read - West Bengal Elections 2021: Cops Deny Permission To Asaduddin Owaisi's First Rally In Kolkata

The Prime Minister will address BJP rallies in Mangaluru and Bengaluru whereas Gandhi will address three rallies in Kolar, Chitradurga and K R Nagar in the Mandya parliamentary constituency, about 100 km southwest of Bengaluru. Gandhi will be seen rousing support for JD-S candidate Nikhil Kumaraswamy from the Mandya seat. Also Read - BJP Calls for 12-Hour Shutdown in Kerala's Alappuzha Today After RSS Worker Killed in Clash with SDPI

PM Modi is scheduled to address the Mangaluru rally around 4:15 PM from the football ground of Nehru Maidan.

Of the 28 seats across Karnataka, 14 in the central and southern regions will vote on April 18 and the remaining 14 in the coastal and northern regions on April 23. Vote count in all the seats is on May 23.

The BJP is contesting in 27 parliamentary seats and supporting multi-lingual south India actor Sumalatha Ambareesh, an Independent, from Mandya. The Congress and JD-S have fielded joint candidates in all the 28 seats in the ratio of 21:7 under a seat-sharing arrangement.

In addition, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will also hold two rallies in Tamil Nadu on Saturday.  At the Theni rally, PM Modi will seek the support of voters for candidates of the AIADMK-led alliance contesting in Theni, Dindigul, Madurai and Virudhunagar Lok Sabha seats. While in Ramanathapuram, he will seek the people’s support for the alliance candidates contesting from Ramanathapuram, Sivaganga, Thoothukudi and Tenkasi Lok Sabha seats. The BJP is part of the AIADMK-led alliance in Tamil Nadu.

With IANS inputs