An estimated 78.67 per cent voter turnout was recorded for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland and 84.3 per cent for the by-election to Aonglenden Assembly constituency on Thursday, a top election official said.Also Read - Allahabad HC Dismisses Plea Challenging PM Modi's Election From Varanasi LS Seat

The voting figures are provisional and the final turnout will be known on Friday, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Abhijit Sinha told a press conference here. Also Read - Supreme Court Refuses to Allow Former Jharkhand CM Madhu Koda to Contest Assembly Polls

The polling concluded without any incident of violence, except some complaints about malfunctioning of EVMs in around 35 polling stations which were later rectified and voting concluded peacefully, the CEO said. Also Read - Assembly Elections 2019: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha Names 15 More Candidates

Nagaland has a total of 12,13,777 electorates, comprising of 5,98,503 women and 6,15,274 men voters, including 7415 service voters.

Four candidates INCs KL Chishi, NDPPs Tokheho Yepthomi, NPPs Hayithung Tungoe and Independent Dr M M Thromwa Konyak are in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat.

The CEO said his office has taken up the issue of Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton wearing a BJP stole while casting vote at his native village at Rephyim in his home constituency 37-Tyui in Wokha district.

He also said that the Congress Party has demanded re-poll in the polling station as a video circulating in the social media has shown the Deputy CM getting inside the polling station and verifying several voters slip and casting the vote.

He said the appropriate action against the Deputy CM will be finalized only after Friday’s scrutiny.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio cast his vote at Touphema under his home constituency in Northern Angami-II. Opposition Leader T R Zeliang did it in Jalukie town of Peren district.

NDPP nominee Tokheho Yepthomi exercised the franchise at Naharbari GPS polling station while INC nominee K L Chishi cast his vote at Atoizu in Zunheboto district.

The by-poll to Aonglenden Assembly segment is a straight contest between the Congress nominee Alemjongshi Longkumer and Sharingain Longkumer of ruling NDPP.

The by-poll was necessitated following the demise of sitting ruling MLA Imtikumzuk in September last year.

Aonglenden has a total of 12,436 electorates including 6,146 male and 6,290 female voters and it recorded a voter turnout of 84.3 per cent.

Asked about a single member of a family casting vote for the entire family, which has been reported from several quarters, the CEO said there is no documentary evidence of such practices while there are no complaints of proxy voting and booth capturing too.