New Delhi: The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has released its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019. The list includes name of party chief Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriye Sule, who will contest general elections from Baramati. Apart from Sule, the list also includes Sanjay Dina Patil who has been fielded from Mumbai North East, Anand Paranjpe from Thane, Sunil Tatkare from Raigad. Mohammad Faisal has been named as a NCP candidate from Lakshwadeep.

Besides, the NCP list also has one seat for the Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana, which has fielded a candidate from Hatkanangale.

The list comes days after the NCP chief Sharad Pawar declared that he would not be contesting the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 from the Madha constituency. Speaking to news agency ANI, Pawar said that he has already contested 14 times and would now like to make way for other family members to foray into politics.


Maharashtra sends 48 MPs to the Lok Sabha, the second highest after Uttar Pradesh which has 80 seats and it will go to polls in four phases- on April 11, 18, 23 and 29. The counting for the votes will take place on May 23. In a seat sharing pre-poll pact with Congress, the Sharad Pawar-led NCP will contest on 22 seats out of 48 in Maharashtra.

In 2014 elections, the Congress-NCP combine had won just six seats .

A by-election for the Katol assembly constituency in Nagpur district will be held along with the Lok Sabha polls this April-May. The bypoll became necessary following BJP MLA Ashish Deshmukh’s resignation in October last year.