Kerala: After senior Congress leader AK Antony said that party president Rahul Gandhi will also contest from Wayanad seat in Kerala, state Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) took to Twitter to mock the announcement. Calling Rahul’s decision to contest from Wayanad ‘a great Indian escape’, the Kerala BJP said that after panicking for so long, the Congress President had accepted refuge at Wayanad in the state.Also Read - IMD Sounds Red Alert in 4 Districts After Heavy Downpour Lashes Kerala, CM Vijayan Holds High-level Meeting

“No surprises. The Great Indian Escape is complete. After days of running & panicking around, Cong President Rahul Gandhi finally accepts refuge at Wayanad,” tweeted Kerala BJP. Also Read - Upset With Gujarat Party Leadership, Hardik Patel Quits Congress, May Join BJP

Prior to BJP making snarky comments, Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala had dismissed statements poking fun at party president’s candidacy from Wayanad and said that such comments were nothing but immature and childish. He had also launched a scathing attack on Union Minister Smriti Irani, who will be contesting against Gandhi from Uttar Pradesh’s Amethi and said, “She (Smriti Irani) will complete a hat-trick of losses.” Also Read - Heavy Rainfall To Continue In Kerala Tomorrow, IMD Issues Orange Alert For 7 Districts | Details Here

The Congress spokesperson also questioned PM Modi who had contested from two seats in the Lok Sabha 2014 elections and said, “Why did Modi Ji leave Gujarat and contest from Varanasi? Was he not confident in Gujarat?”

Rahul Gandhi will contest upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019 from Kerala’s Wayanad constituency apart from Uttar Pradesh’s Amethi, senior Congress leader AK Antony informed on Sunday. This is the first time that the Congress chief will be contesting the general elections on two seats. The mega announcement came a few days after Gandhi asserted that he was open to contest the polls from a second seat other than Amethi.

Wayanad will vote on April 23 while Amethi on May 6. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are scheduled to be held in seven phases, beginning April 11. The counting of votes will be held on May 23.