Bhubaneswar: The state has 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly seats.  The Lok Sabha and Assembly elections took place simultaneously in Odisha in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here is all you need to know about Odisha Assembly Elections 2019: 

Voter Turnout:

Excluding the Patkura Assembly segment, Odisha recorded average polling of 73.08 per cent at the end of four phase polling in the state, said Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar.

The voter turnout in the first phase was 73.76 per cent while in the second and third phase, the voter turnout was recorded at 72.56 per cent and 71.62 per cent respectively. In the fourth and final phase, a turnout of 74.50 per cent was recorded.

In the first phase, a total of 60,03,707 voters comprising 29,72,925 male voters, 30,30,222 female voters and 560 transgenders were eligible to cast their votes in 7,233 booths.

Facts And Figures:

Of the total 147 Assembly seats, 88 are general, 25 are reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) and 34 are for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates. At present, the BJD occupies 118 Assembly seats, Congress 16, BJP 10, Independent and others 3.

Naveen Patnaik of the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has been running the state since March 2000. He had formed an alliance with the BJP and won a majority in 2000 but walked away from the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) before the Lok Sabha and the Odisha state assembly polls in 2009 but successfully won the majority of seats alone. The BJD also won 14 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats in 2019. Since then the party has grown under the leadership of Naveen Patnaik.

Constituency Details:

All the constituencies in Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput regions voted in the first phase on April 11. All the constituencies in Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska regions voted in the second phase on April 18. All the constituencies in Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri and Bhubaneswar regions voted in the third phase on April 23. All the constituencies in Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur regions voted in the fourth phase on April 29.

About electorates, polling stations:

The total number of electorates for the Odisha Assembly elections stood at 3.18 crore. Of the total 3.18 crore electorates, 1.63 crores are males while 1.54 crore are females. The state will see over 5.45 lakh first-time voters who fall in the age group of 18 to 19 years.

As per reports, the poll bodies in the state have set up 37,606 polling stations. As many as 4,154 polling stations have been set up in urban regions while 33,452 polling stations lie in rural regions of the state.

Main contenders:

The state witnessed a triangular contest between the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. BJD Chief Naveen Patnaik is one of the strongest contenders.

Besides, Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan, former BJD leader Baijayant Panda, who recently joined hands with the saffron party, Congress’ Niranjan Patnaik and Narasingha Mishra are also in the fray.

BJD’s Bhartruhari Mahtab and former state finance minister Prasanna Acharya are also among the prominent faces.

Previous elections:

In 2014, Odisha Assembly elections were held between April 10 and 17. The BJD which contested the elections from all the 147 Assembly seats emerged victorious in 117 seats with total 43.9 per cent vote share. The Congress party had bagged 16 seats with 26 per cent vote share. The BJP stood at third place with 10 seats. While Independents managed to win from two seats, the CPM and the SKD registered victories from one seat each.

Dates to remember:

Phase – I

Date of Issue of Gazette Notification: 18.03.2019

Last Date of Nominations: 25.03.2019

Date for Scrutiny of Nominations: 26.03.2019

Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures: 28.03.2019

Date of Poll: 11.04.2019

Phase – II

Date of Issue of Gazette Notification: 19.03.2019

Last Date of Nominations: 26.03.2019

Date for Scrutiny of Nominations: 27.03.2019

Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures: 29.03.2019

Date of Poll: 18.05.2019

Phase – III

Date of Issue of Gazette Notification: 28.03.2019

Last Date of Nominations: 04.04.2019

Date for Scrutiny of Nominations: 05.04.2019

Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures: 08.04.2019

Date of Poll: 23.05.2019

Phase – IV

Date of Issue of Gazette Notification: 02.04.2019

Last Date of Nominations: 09.04.2019

Date for Scrutiny of Nominations: 10.04.2019

Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures: 12.04.2019

The elections were held for four parliamentary constituencies Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput and 28 Assembly constituencies, which fall under the Lok Sabha seats on April 11.