New Delhi: Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska parliamentary seats in Odisha will vote in the second phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019 on April 18. The counting of votes will take place on May 23 and the results will be declared same day.

Key details about Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska Lok Sabha seats in Odisha

Bargarh: This constituency is currently represented by  BJD’s Prabhas Singh. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Prabhas Singh had defeated BJP’s Subash Chouhan

This year, Bargarh Lok Sabha seat is witnessing an intense battle between two heavyweights of the ruling BJD and the opposition BJP.

The grand old party has pitted Pradip Debata, a businessman, against BJD stalwart and sitting Rajya Sabha member Prasanna Acharya, and BJP national secretary Suresh Pujari in the backward constituency in western Odisha.

Sundargarh: This constituency is reserved for the ST category. It is currently represented by BJP’s Jual Oram. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Oram had defeated BJD’s Dileep Kumar Tirkey with a margin of over 18,000 votes.

For 2019 Lok Sabha polls, BJD has fielded Sunita Biswal to take on Congress’ George Tirkey and BJP’s Jual Oram

Bolangir: This seat is currently represented by BJD’s Kalikesh Narayan. In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, he had defeated BJP’s three times MP Sangeet Kumari Deo with a margin of over 90,000 votes.

For 2019 polls, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has fielded two times MP Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo while Congress has fielded Samarendra Mishra. BJP’s Sangeeta Deo is also in the fray.

Kandhamal: This Lok Sabha seats came into existence in 2008 after the presidential notification for the delimitation of constituencies. This seat is currently represented by BJD’s Pratyusha Rajeshwari Singh. She had won the by-poll which took place in 2014 following the demise of her husband Hemendra Chandra Singh. Pratyusha Rajeshwari Singh has recently resigned from the BJD.

For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJD has fielded Achyut Samanta, BJP has nominated Kharavela Swain and Congress has fielded  Manoj Kumar Acharya.

Aska: Aska Lok Sabha seat is considered a stronghold of ruling BJD. In 1997, Odisha Chief minister Naveen Patnaik made his political debut from the seat.

Aska LS seat is currently lying vacant as its sitting MP Ladu Kishore Swain died in February this year. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJD’s Ladu Kishore Swain had defeated Congress’ Srilokanath Ratha with a margin of 311,997 votes.

For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJD has fielded Pramila Biso, BJP has fielded Anita Subhadarshini and CPI-M has foelded Rama Krushna Panda.