New Delhi: In a strong-worded attack, Prime Minister Narendra Modi slammed Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati for seeking the support of Samajwadi Party (SP) just for the ‘sake of power’ while addressing a rally in Uttar Pradesh’s Kannauj on Saturday.

He was quoted,”‘Behenji’ is happily asking for votes for the Samajwadi Party (SP), just for power, just to defeat Modi, you are hugging the people who abuse Babasaheb?”

The Prime Minister has long been vocal about his discontentment with the SP-BSP joining hands for the Lok Sabha elections- often preempting that this ‘farzi friendship’ will end soon after the polls.

Click here for all updates on Lok Sabha elections 2019

PM Modi was recently also quoted, “The farzi dosti of bua and babua will also end the same way… the date of this friendship has been fixed. May 23, Thursday, this farzi dosti will fall apart… that day bua and babua will start part 2 of their rivalry.”

When former rivals SP, BSP stitched a poll alliance, Mayawati avowed that she has set aside the ghosts of 1995 Guest House incident. Reportedly, Samajwadi Party workers had attacked a state guest house where the BSP chief was camping with her supporters. The immediate provocation was Mayawati’s decision to withdraw from the government and join hands with the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Since then the SP, BSP became arch rivals. But now with the SP-BSP-RLD poll pact looking at wresting majority of seats in Uttar Pradesh, both Mulayam and the BSP chief are believed to have amicably resolved their differences.

Former Uttar Pradesh Chief Ministers Mayawati and Mulayam Singh Yadav also shared a stage for the first time in 25 years on April 19- where the BSP chief praised the Samajwadi Party founder and dubbed Prime Minister Narendra Modi as “a fake backward”. Addressing a public meeting in Mainpuri, Mulayam Singh Yadav’s bastion, Mayawati thundered, “Mulayam Singh is not a fake backward like Modi.”

Dimple Yadav is seeking re-election from Kannauj this Lok Sabha election. She will again face the BJP’s Subrat Pathak, whom she had defeated in 2014.