New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Wednesday banned the screening of PM Narendra Modi biopic during Lok Sabha Elections 2019 period. “Any biopic that subserves purpose of any political entity or individual should not be displayed in electronic media,” it said. Also Read - Bengal Election 2021: Election Commission Removes Bengal ADG a Day After Announcing Poll Dates

PM Narendra Modi biopic was earlier slated to release on April 5. However, it got a new release date. The Vivek Oberoi-starrer was now supposed to hit the theatres on April 11. Also Read - Election 2021 Dates Announced: Model Code of Conduct Comes Into Force | Check Out Dos And Don'ts

Responding to the complaints against movies NTR Laxmi, PM Narendra Modi biopic and Udyama Simhan, the poll body said, “These have potential to affect level playing field which is in consonance with Model Code of Conduct and shouldn’t be displayed in electronic media including cinematograph during MCC.” Also Read - Breaking News Updates: Price of Coronavirus Vaccine in Private Hospitals Capped at Rs 250 Per Dose

The PM Narendra Modi biopic was given a ‘U’ certificate from the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) earlier in the day today. Directed by Omung Kumar, the film has been criticised by the opposition parties, claiming that the biopic could give undue advantage to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the polls as it will arrive in theatres before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

“We are very happy that we got the ‘U’ certificate from the Censor Board, and finally the film will be releasing on April 11. We are also very relieved that the Supreme Court has rejected the plea… It is clear now from everywhere,” producer Sandeep Singh said in a statement.

Meanwhile, the Supreme Court on Tuesday had dismissed a petition filed by a Congress activist seeking stay on the film’s release, saying the Election Commission would be an ‘appropriate’ place to seek the redressal.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are scheduled to be held in seven phases. The first phase of polling will be held on April 11 and the last phase of voting will be conducted on May 19. The results will be announced on May 23.