New Delhi: In a blatant attack on Karnataka’s Congress-JD(U)-led government, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that the “weak Chief Minister (referring to H. D. Kumaraswamy) was crying” while the cabinet ministers were involved in corruption. The Prime Minister further alleged that the Karnataka government was looting the state; he said, “they know their days are numbered and therefore, they have started looting the state.”

“The drama unfolding here in the state for the past one year is refusing to end. This drama has everything including emotions and revenge. The situation is such that we get to see an overflow of emotions regularly in rallies and press conferences,” PM Modi said while addressing a rally in Karnataka’s Bagalkot.

The Prime Minister then went on to take a dig at the Congress. PM Modi said that the “grand old party and its allies think about self and not national interest”. Narendra Modi asserted, “Congress was not ready to accept surgical and Balakot Airstrike as our (BJP)’s victory”.

In another scathing attack, PM Modi said that “Congress is facing an existential crisis and is trying to divide society”.

“The Congress-led government went crying around post-Mumbai Attacks; Now, wherever Pakistan goes, you hear its cries that Modi is hitting them,” PM Modi added.

For full Lok Sabha coverage, follow

This is not the first time that PM Modi launched a blistering attack on the JDS-Congress coalition in Karnataka. Earlier, the Prime Minister had claimed that it (Karnataka government) was interested only in “development-free corruption”. “People want corruption-free government, but Karnataka government wants development-free corruption,” PM Modi told BJP’s booth-level workers of the state during an interaction with them through video conferencing as part of the party’s ‘Mera Booth Sabse Mazboot’ programme in December last year. He also took a dig at the agricultural loan waiver announced by the H D Kumaraswamy government by terming it the “most cruel joke” on farmers.

Notably, Karnataka will go to polls on April 18 and April 23 for the ongoing Lok Sabha elections 2019 in the country. The counting of votes will take place on May 23 and the result will come out on the same day.