Balod: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday launched a scathing attack on Congress and its allies, alleging that they are fighting upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019 to give a free hand to terrorists. Adding, he claimed that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on the other hands wants to make the country and forces self-reliant.

Addressing a rally at Hathuad in Balod district of Chhattisgarh, the Prime Minister said, “Congress and other parties supporting it are fighting polls to loot people’s money, we’re contesting polls to make effective use of every single rupee. They’re fighting polls to weaken security forces of country and we’re contesting polls to make them self-reliant.”

Strengthening the attack, he said, “The Congress and its allies were contesting the Lok Sabha elections to give a free hand (khuli chhuth) to terrorists and separatists while the BJP was in the fray to punish terrorists and separatists for their sins.”

The PM also made a veiled attack at Congress president Rahul Gandhi over contesting general elections from Wayanad seat in Kerala besides Amethi in Uttar Pradesh, claiming that the ‘naamadar’ (dynast) of the Congress party had to run away to find a ‘safe’ seat.

Taking on the Congress over its promise to amend Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act-AFSPA in its manifesto, PM Modi challenged the party leaders to let go off their security cover once. Calling the AFSPA Act a ‘Suraksha Kavach’ (armour)) of the armed forces, he said, “Main zara Congress walon ko kehta hoon ye sena ke jawano ko tum nihathe bana rahe ho, zara ek baar khudh toh saari security cover se nikal kar ke dikhao zara (Congress is making the armed forces weak. I challenge the party leaders to let go off their security cover once).”

When the government is strong, the country does not sit quiet after a terror attack, he said while asking the people, “Didn’t you feel proud when the country punished perpetrators of terror.”

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are scheduled to be held in seven phases, beginning April 11. Chhattisgarh will vote in three phases on April 11, 18 and 23. The counting of votes will be conducted on May 23.