New Delhi: With counting for all seven phases of Lok Sabha elections 2019 concluded, here’s a look at the winners and their win margins from Punjab’s Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib and Ludhiana seats.Also Read - Video: Fire Breaks Out at Guru Nanak Dev Hospital in Amritsar; Patients Evacuated

Early in the morning, reports emerged of prominent sweetmeat outlets in Chandigarh, Ludhiana, Amritsar, Patiala, Jalandhar and Bathinda preparing huge orders for ‘motichoor laddoos’ for anticipated celebrations in the evening. Also Read - 7 Members of Family, Including 5 Children, Burnt Alive As Their Hut Catches Fire In Ludhiana

ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW: Also Read - IRCTC Latest Update: Indian Railways Cancels 8 Trains on Hisar-Bathinda Route | List Here

Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha Constituency

Congress’ Manish Tewari has registered a thumping victory from the Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha constituency against the sitting MP Prem Singh Chandumjra of the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD). (Chandumjra had who won against Ambika Soni of the Congress in 2014.) Tewari won against Chandumjra by 46,000 votes.

Prem Singh Chandumajra of Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) won the 2014 Lok Sabha election by a resounding 347394 votes, defeating former Union Minister Ambika Soni of Congress by a margin of 23697 votes. Himmat Singh Shergill of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) came third with 306008 votes.

In fray from Anandpur Sahib were AAP’s Narinder Singh Shergill, Manish Tewari from Congress and the SAD’s incumbent MP who is eyeing re-election.

Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Constituency

The Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency is one of Punjab’s 13 Lok Sabha constituencies and was formed prior to the 1952 elections. Gurdaspur has long been in the Congress’ kitty, with the BJP winning it four times in the past. Its sitting MP Vinod Khanna of the BJP passed away and Sunil Kumar Jakhar of the Congress won the by-polls, defeating BJP candidate Swaran Salaria.

This time Bollywood actor Sunny Deol fought from the BJP side against Sunil Kumar Jakhar who is seeking re-election to a proper five year Lok Sabha term. The Aam Aadmi Party meanwhile fielded Peter Masih for the 2019 Lok Sabha contest. Gurdaspur has a total population of over 70,000 with a 53% majority of males.

Sunny Deol wins his maiden election from Gurdaspur with a margin of more than 80,000 votes against Sunil Jakhar.

Amritsar Lok Sabha Constituency

The Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency is one of the most politically active seats out of the 12 in Punjab. In 2014, it witnessed a stellar contest between the BJP, Congress and the AAP. The incumbent Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh became the MP after defeating now Union minister Arun Jaitley and the AAP’s candidate Dr Daljit Singh, who is an eye surgeon. Amarinder Singh defeated Arun Jaitley comfortably by a margin of 1,02,770 votes.

Before that now Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu was the sitting MP since 2004 from the BJP. The Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency consists of 1,241,099 number of electorates in totality, of these 650,883 are males and 590,216 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

Presently Congress’ Gurjeet Singh Aujla represents the constituency after Amarinder Singh vacated the seat in 2017.

Gurjeet Singh Aujla of the Congress raced ahead in Amritsar by a margin of nearly 96,000 votes against Hardeep Singh Puri of the BJP and won the seat.

Khadoor Sahib Lok Sabha Constituency

The total number of electorates in the Khadoor Sahib Lok Sabha constituency according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,340,145 of which 690,115 are males and 650,030 are females.

This constituency was formed post the Presidential Notification of the Delimitation of Parliamentary Constituencies in 2008.

The key candidates for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections were Bibi Jagir Kaur of SAD, Jasbir Singh Gill of Congress and AAP’s Manjinder Singh Sidhu.

Jasbir Singh Gill or Dimpa of the Congress wins with a margin of more than 1,35,000 votes against SAD’s Bibi Jagir Kaur in Khadoor Sahib.

Jalandhar Lok Sabha Constituency

The Jalandhar Lok Sabha seat is reserved for candidates from a scheduled caste. Although Jalandhar has seen a contest between the SAD and the Congress mostly, the Grand Old Party has sent more MPs from here than SAD. The sitting MP from Jalandhar is Santokh Singh Chaudhary of the Congress, who defeated SAD’s Pawan Kumar Tinu.

Chaudhary sought re-election this time from Jalandhar against SAD’s Charanjit Singh and AAP’s Jora Singh.

Santokh Singh Chaudhary of the Congress wins in a tough fight with SAD’s Charanjit Singh Atwal by leading with a margin of nearly 21,000 votes.

Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha Constituency

The Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha constituency is reserved for the candidates from schedule caste. Hoshiarpur has seen a keenly fought battle between the BJP and the Congress for the past many years. BJP’s Vijay Sampla won against the Congress’ Mohinder Singh Kaypee in 2014 by a thin margin of 13,000 votes.

Som Prakash of the BJP wins against Congress candidate Dr Raj Kumar Chabberwal by a margin of nearly 45,000 votes in Hoshiarpur.

Ludhiana Lok Sabha Constituency

Ludhiana Lok Sabha constituency is one of many 13 seats in Punjab that has mostly seen a contest between the Congress and the SAD. Ravneet Singh Bittu of the Congress is the sitting MP from Ludhiana.

He defeated Harvinder Singh Phoolka of AAP in 2014 by a margin less than of 1,00,000 votes. The Ludhiana Lok Sabha constituency consists of 1,309,308 number of electorates, of these 693,114 are males and 616,194 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

Ravneet Singh Bittu of the Congress wins against his opponent from Ludhiana since he maintained a margin of 76,000 votes against the Lok Insaaf Party candidate.