New Delhi: Rahul Gandhi will contest upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019 from Kerala’s Wayanad constituency apart from Uttar Pradesh’s Amethi, senior Congress leader AK Antony informed on Sunday. This is the first time that the Congress chief will be contesting the general elections on two seats. The mega announcement came a few days after Gandhi asserted that he was open to contest the polls from a second seat other than Amethi.Also Read - Thieves Perform Pooja Before Looting Gold & Cash Worth Rs 34 Lakh From Kerala Bank, Leave Note For Police

“Amethi is my karmabhoomi, the place where one is destined to work and shall always remain so,” Gandhi had said. He went on to add, “I am deeply grateful for the love, affection and the sentiments expressed by our party workers in Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala who have asked me to contest a second seat from their states.” Also Read - Impending Electoral Rout in Gujarat And Himachal: Prashant Kishor's Prediction For Congress

If reports are to believed, top Congress leaders in Kerala, including All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary Oommen Chandy and leader of Opposition Ramesh Chennithala, had urged Gandhi to contest from the Wayanad Lok Sabha seat in Kerala. Also Read - IMD Sounds Red Alert in 4 Districts After Heavy Downpour Lashes Kerala, CM Vijayan Holds High-level Meeting

Reacting to reports that Rahul Gandhi is contesting from Wayanad as he isn’t confident of winning in Amethi, Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala said that such comments were nothing but immature and childish. He also launched a scathing attack on Union Minister Smriti Irani and said, “She (Smriti Irani) will complete a hat-trick of losses.”

The Congress spokesperson went on to question PM Modi who had contested from two seats in the Lok Sabha 2014 elections and said, “Why did Modi Ji leave Gujarat and contest from Varanasi? Was he not confident in Gujarat?”

PM Narendra Modi contested from two seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections– Varanasi and Vadodara.

Wayanad will vote on April 23 while Amethi on May 6. The counting of votes for the country will be held on May 23.