New Delhi: The Rampur unit of Samajwadi party will boycott the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, said senior Samajwadi Party leader Mohammad Azam Khan on Friday. While addressing the SP workers, former Uttar Pradesh cabinet minister and Rampur MLA, Khan said, “The BJP wants to control all the institutions in the country and it has been successful to an extent. The Rampur unit of the party has announced that they will boycott the Parliamentary elections.”Also Read - 14-Year-Old Teenager Mauled To Death By Tigress In UP's Lakhimpur Kheri

The decision to boycott the elections comes in the wake of the crackdown of several properties in the Rampur district by the administration, including the Ali Jauhar University. Khan stated, “We all have taken a unanimous decision to boycott the Lok Sabha elections because Rampur is living in fear. The agencies like CBI are being disrespected and used by the Centre.” Khan added that deliberate action was taken against Ali Jauhar University. “The local administration is hatching a conspiracy to target schools run by Jauhar trust,” said Azam Khan. Also Read - UP Woman Undergoes Gender Reassignment For Girlfriend After Families Oppose Their Relation

On March 6, 2019, Rampur District Magistrate Anjaney Singh demolished Urdu Gate illegally constructed by Khan’s trust. Responding to the demolition, Khan said: “Local administration of Uttar Pradesh is taking action at the behest of state government. They are making the situation in the state similar to that of Kashmir. In such a scenario, free and fair elections can’t be conducted.” Also Read - By-Election Result 2022: List Of Winners From 3 Lok Sabha, 7 State Assembly Seats

The Urdu Gate was constructed by SP leader and former Uttar Pradesh cabinet minister Azam Khan, on Jauhar Ali University road in Rampur.  The gate was demolished by the BJP government after the authorities concerned had declared the structure illegal.

Meanwhile, the Samajwadi Party (SP) on Friday released the third list of candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The party has fielded Tabassum Hasan from Kairana.

The Samajwadi Party is contesting the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in alliance with Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). As per the seat-sharing arrangement, the former will contest 37 while the latter will be fighting it out on 38 seats. In 2014, the SP had won just 5 out of 80 seats.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will begin on April 11. The counting of votes will be held on May 23.

(With Agency inputs)