New Delhi: Repolling will be held in Karimganj (SC) and Autonomous District (ST) Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam on Wednesday. Polling was held in these constituencies in the second phase of Lok Sabha elections on April 18. Re-polling will be conducted from 7 AM to 5 PM in five polling stations. Also Read - Ahead of Assam Assembly Elections 2021, State Declared as 'Disturbed Area' for Next Six Months

Repolling in five polling stations– four in Karimganj and one in Autonomous District – will be held on April 24,” a polling official had said. Also Read - In a First, Indian Railways Successfully Operates Electric Locomotive in Assam | Watch Video

The polling stations where re-polling will be conducted are polling station number 105 at Batoiya LP School, polling station number 134 at Gandarvakhani LP School, polling station number 152 at Atanagar LP School and polling station number 153 at Atanagar LP School in Karimganj (SC) seat. Re-polling will also be conducted at polling station number 136 at Upper Dillaji LP School of Autonomous District (ST) constituency. Also Read - Assam: Man Throws Acid on Woman After She Rejects Marriage Proposal; Accused Arrested

The repolling was ordered in these five stations as the printed data of the Voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) slip was not clear.

The first VVPAT machine was replaced with another one as per the Election Commission of India (ECI) guidelines but to no avail. With the second machine, a mock poll was conducted by casting one vote against each of the five candidates and one NOTA vote. But the VVPAT slip did not drop. It was then that the ECI was informed and the ECI thereafter instructed to conduct re-polling in the said polling station.

An estimated 46.42 per cent of over 69 lakh electorate had exercised their franchise on April 18 in five parliamentary constituencies of Assam, as per an election official. The voting process for the second phase was held in 8,992 polling booths of Karimganj (SC), Silchar, Autonomous District (ST), Nowgong and Mangaldoi Lok Sabha seats. According to officials, there were reports of EVM glitches in several booths, but the polling personnel had addressed the issues.

Polling was held in Kokrajhar (ST), Dhubri, Barpeta and Gauhati constituencies this Tuesday to decide the fate of 54 candidates, including nine women. Reportedly, polling was delayed in several booths in Assam after voting machines or EVMs reported problems. Assam witnessed an impressive voter turnout at 74.05 per cent.